We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Property - Multiple visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art & Alma's Dining

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Art & Alma's Dining
Main & Ctr St, Burlington, IL 60109
(847) 683-2883
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Burlington
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Historical Property - Multiple visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Located in the small town of Burlington, Art&Alma's is located in a 100+ yr old building which adds to the atmosphere and experience. Upon entering you will see a large wooden bar, which itself has a history. Drinks are well made, large selection of various Bloody Mary variations; Brandy Old-Fashions rival those made in Wisc. Dinner selections are varied, and there are always specials posted. Manager/owners are friendly and make you feel welcome and appreciated; wait staff friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Salad bar (dinner) is just the right size. Friday and Saturday evenings are very crowded, especially the Friday fish fry, expect the crowd. Stuffed chix w/ crab is outstanding. The Chef will modify or create about anything upon request. Recently went with a group of 16 people (planned and off hours), they could not have been more helpful, holding a waitress and offering the entire menu for our enjoyment. Yes, the building is old, but that is the whole point ... This is a 'go-to' restaurant, just plan accordingly if considering Fri/Sat PM.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a fancy place but.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

they have pretty darn good food not to mention a wide selection of bloody marys, mojitos and other interesting and tasty drinks. This place is not high on atmosphere but the large salad bar, steaks, ribs and Friday all you can eat fish fry are outstanding. You will like the original bar from 1908. And of course the wait staff, they really hustle but still take time to be friendly in the small town fashion that I love.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First time here after reading a newspaper review. Inside needs updating, but the food and the service were excellent. Lots of regulars and a very friendly atmosphere. We had a long wait (over an hour) but will know to go at 7:30 or after on a Saturday.

Steaks were fabulous and the house potatoes were homey and delicious. The salad bar was small and not too exciting, but the home baked bread was great. Homemade peach pie for dessert was also fabulous.

We will be going back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food steaks are special and service is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We never have had a bad experience at Art & Alma's. Not from the food and not from the service.

If you want to go on the weekends without a long wait, go early.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We've been going here since it opened and it is consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

As always, Art and Alma's is excellent. I ordered the stuffed filet stuffed with blue cheese and mushrooms. The wine sauce that compliments the steak adds just the right flavor to enhance the meat. I always order my steaks rare and they get it just right, brown on the outside, raw on the inside.

My husband swears that their pork back ribs with the original sauce can't be beat. He's ordered ribs all over the world but Art and Alma's are his alltime favorite.

If you choose to go be aware that the salad/soup bar, which comes with most meals is an old fashioned salad bar, macaroni salad with tuna, tomato cucumber salad, cottage cheese etc. Don't look for frou-frou but rather all the stuff gramma used to make for picnics. The soup is always homemade and always great.

The only complaint I have is that they switched from their wonderful small loaves of warm bread to generic garlic bread sticks. Bring back the bread!!! I could make a meal of that alone!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art & Alma's Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art & Alma's Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.