We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Midwest Hotel in Burbank

Save Saved
You added Midwest Hotel in Burbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midwest Hotel in Burbank
5001 W 79th St, Burbank, IL 60459 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Chicago Midway/Burbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burbank
Freeport, Illinois
1 review
“Worse hotel ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

First and foremost, the picture posted IS NOT the hotel! I reserved this hotel through Hotels.com the day before arriving. I took my family to a concert at Toyota Park and did not arrive at the hotel until midnight not realizing that the hotel did not fit the picture from the website. When we got there, the parking lot was full which led us to believe the place was actually busy. There was trash all over the property, windows filthy and broken. As I entered the facility, which smelled like mold, and after reading recent reviews, yes there was latin music blasting from a party! The place was very sketchy, as I asked about my reservation there was argueing in the hall with a wedding party. My reservation was never confirmed through Hotels.com although they told me and charged me for the hotel. Management claimed they were booked solid did not have any of my information. The female receptionist was not professional nor was the manager. While I voiced my frustration with management, the wedding party behind me starting fighting! I told the manager I will not be staying there and I ran out of the building! I called the local building inspector two days later and they are aware of the problems this hotel has! This hotel should be condemned! Google Map this place, trust me!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    0
    10
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel around 11 pm expecting to get comfortable and take the kids swimming but it didn't work out so well. The pool was empty and disgusting. In the room the floors were wet, we only got 5 channels, half of the outlets didnt work, the air conditioner soaked the floor not to mention the plug was taped into the outlet and kept sparking, no fridge or microwave in room like said, the telephone didn't work in an way possible so I don't what someone would do if an emergency occured, no phonebook or bible, disgusting bathtub, toilet had a hard time flushing, no toilet paper holder, broken vending machines, blaring loud music from the club all night long, messed up walls, looked like dried blood on the bathroom door, spots taped up on the ceiling, very creepy place to stay. Also extremely dirty. This hotel should be closed down. I doubt it would pass a safety inspection.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

The first warning should have been the "no refunds" or the "no guests" sign. The strobe light in the lobby and the attached club should have also tipped us off. When we went in the room, there were ants in the bed. We wore our shoes in the room for fear of the dirty carpet and slept in our clothes to shield us from the bed. The loud music continued through the night and we heard glass breaking in the distance. When we showered in the morning, we used the soap that was labeled from Motel 8 and the shower drain barely worked so we showered in a puddle. To top it all off, we wedged our suitcase against the door so that we wouldn't get knifed in the middle of the night. Believe me, you would be safer staying in a nuclear evacuation zone.

P.S. There was a random retro 'pimp' chair in the middle of the room facing one of the beds. (Maybe they had an hourly rate.)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, stay in your car, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The only good thing about this hotel was the distance from Toyota Park. However, DO NOT stay at this hotel!!!! Old, dirty, air conditioner did not work. Even the lobby did not have air conditioning which should have been our clue to leave. When we got into our room, the air was not even on so it was approx a hot & humid 100 degrees in the room which was miserable. We turned on the air conditioner which barely worked. It took probably 4-5 hours before the room went to about 80 degrees. I would have drove home that night but was tired from a concert at Toyota Park. That's not all that was bad... there was not even HOT water and only 1 bath towel in the room which was thin and rough. They didn't even have a bath matt so you had too step on the floor when gettig out of the cold shower. The room was dirty and old so I did not look around for anything else that was missing. I just wanted to get out of there in the AM. I think they should tear down this hotel and start over. NEVER, NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The most digusting, filthy unorganized place I have ever stayed in my life. After they could not check us in for two hours they put us in sister hotel that was showing triple x porn. We came back the next night and only managed one nights stay. We left and went to another hotel. We are all still amazed by what a disgusting place this is. The pictures on Expedia website are NOT of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I made reservations at this dump for my wife and myself through Expedia.com for July 7, 2010. I called from the airport to get a shuttle. No answer, so I hired a taxi. When we arrived, the maintenance man said the clerk had quit and walked off the job, but a replacement should be there in 15 minutes. While we were waiting in the lobby, several guys brought in huge speakers, set them up in the attached bar, and proceeded to play extremely LOUD rap music--very obscene--something about "Imma gonna f__k yo momma 'cause she's a b___h." An hour after we got there, the maintenance man said it would be another hour before someone would be there to check us in! We proceeded to make reservations at the Hampton Inn down the road a few miles; another young man who was waiting for a room offered to take us there on his way to another motel. There is NO WAY I would EVER stay at this place considering our experience. I will sleep at the airport instead! I don't know where the photo on it's website came from--I had to check the address. Either it's another motel or the picture was taken 40 years ago. Sketchy part of town with no eateries within sight. Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

On a recent stay at Americas best Value inn. First thing I would do is change the name to Americas Worst Inn, because it is what it is. This is The worst hotel I have ever stayed in by far. When you walk in, seems nice enough, but the person behind the front desk had no reason working there. She (Anita) she told me her name was and probably still is a complete idiot! I usually don’t like calling people names, but she has to be the most stupid person ever working in any hotel ever. As she tries to check me in, she is also folding towels, 10 mins go by and she tells me if I can please wait, she needs to go and check on bed sheets she is washing. I should have left right there and then. When she does come back she says that she needs to call the manager because she cannot check me in as I have made a reservation and I was not a walk in. What is she talking about, I ask myself. So she calls the manager, never mind that it is 2:15 in the morning, as she is talking to the manager she somehow does check me in. I tell her I want a no smoking room, fine she says. She gives me room 133, as soon as I walk in the room, it reeks, I mean reeks of smoke, the wall paper is peeling off the wall, the bathroom water is coming out brown, so I go back to the front desk, and she is not there, I have to wait about 15 minutes before this idiot of a woman comes back. I tell her, I said a non smoking room. She says, Sir the system says it’s a non smoking room, I say, guess what Anita your system is wrong! She somehow takes offense to this and tells me, she isn’t going to move me to another room. I tell her I want my money back, she responds with “I already dropped the money in the safe.” I said what do you mean, I can’t have my money back? She than calls the manager it’s nearly 3am, I guess the manager must have told her to switch me rooms, she doesn’t seem happy about this, but she moves me to room 138. Rooms seems ok but just like the other room, bathroom water is brown, wall paper peeling but am too tired to care, sheets reek of bleach, guess here, that means they are clean, 10 minutes later the fire alarm goes off, loud, I go into the hallway and I expect people running around, I guess the hotel is empty, I do see one man and he tells me all is ok, that happens around here. So I go check at the front desk but no one around. I go back to my room and can’t fall asleep, this place is the worst place I have ever stayed at. I somehow i doze off. I wake up and open the curtains and find black mold on the walls. I don’t shower, I just grab my belongings and leave. I would not recommend this place to anyone living. STAY AWAY FROM AMERICAS WORST! You have been warned.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Midwest Hotel in Burbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midwest Hotel in Burbank

Address: 5001 W 79th St, Burbank, IL 60459 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Chicago Midway/Burbank)
Location: United States > Illinois > Burbank
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Midwest Hotel in Burbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midwest Hotel in Burbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.