We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Lake Cook Road, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Buffalo Grove
WOODRIDGE
1 review
“Great get away weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked a room here for a weekend getaway to visit Long Grove. The hotel was great and close proximity. Next time we are brining our bikes so we can bike everywhere. It was a very nice stay and the bed was amazingly soft.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. The convenient quick trip to Long Grove is definitely a plus. And a bike ride does sound nice. Not too far and a beautiful trip! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels and happy holidays!

Sincerely,

Nikki Del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    104
    115
    64
    37
See reviews for
163
60
26
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well let me start by saying I normally would prefer a Hampton Inn over most other chains. I was at this hotel one short night and did little more than sleep and bathe there. The hotel itself is in a nice quiet residential area. It appears well maintained, but the rooms I found were a bit small and worn. However, they are very clean. The bathroom was extremely small and the room did not have the modern upgrades I have grown used to with the hotels I normally visit. That being said, the room was fairly comfortable (with the exception of the "short" comforters that another person comented on as well - pull it up to your head and feet stick out...and vice versa). The location is nice with target, walmart and some other stores within about a mile or so radius. Also, there is an Outback steakhouse located directly next door. I understand breakfast is not included, but there is a McDonalds right down the road. The hotel itself is fairly large, two stories and contains a number of attached hallways. I was alone and was giving a room far to the opposite end of the hotel. This walk to through the hallways to the far end made me feel a bit like I was a mouse in a maze (late evening and by myself)! I did however realize that I could have parked right outside the area where my room was located (again, got there late, left early-so I didn't have much time to realize this).

Room Tip: ask for a room near the entrance doors unless you are willing to walk the maze of hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I wanted to share with you that we are in the process of upgrading the hotel. We just a few weeks ago completed installing a brand new top of the line key/lock system. The added security is one to make everyone feel more safe when away from home. And beginning on Monday October 1st we are installing new carpet in every corridor in the hotel. This is sure to present well the next time you are in town. And throughout the next year or so we will continue to make upgrades to the hotel. Like televisions and such.

Please allow us the opportunity to be your home away from home the next time you are in our area. We truly appreciate your business.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've stayed here a grand total of around 25 days over the past 4 years. The hotel is the only location a few minutes from all our relatives, and the price is right. There used to be more positive things to say, but it's getting to the point where we're going to look elsewhere next time.

We haven't seen any property upgrades over the time we've been staying there. Inside is solid--we've never had any problems with the rooms, and the pool is ok--but outside the paint is peeling and the parking lot is full of holes and cigarette butts. This past week, I noticed that door 7 can't be locked, or even fully closed. It looks like someone tried to break in. The guy at the desk seemed aware of it and promised a contractor was coming out that week, but anyone could have gotten in while we were there. All the other outside doors locked.

The breakfast is decent--fresh fruit, yogurt, made to order omelets and pancakes, bacon, sausage, and potatoes--and free. Usually. When we were there before, all four members of the family got vouchers, but this past week they refused to give them to the kids, even though we asked for the same package when we booked online. Another guest gave us his, so I don't know how much they charge for the breakfast, but it's worth about $7 or $8. We didn't get room service this time, but in the past it's been all right.

Beds/pillows are super comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower. A/C and wifi worked fine. The room could benefit from a bathroom fan, a fridge, and a microwave, but other than that it was clean enough and quiet. The carpets in the corridors are fading and have some bleach stains, but the entry and dining area are in good shape.

The free shuttle van was reliable in past trips. Make a reservation the night before, and he'll get you to the train station in Wheeling or Arlington Heights on time, and be waiting for you when you get back.

So overall it's still ok, but it's definitely worth checking out the competition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing to stay with us several times over the past few years. I am happy to inform you that we are making upgrades to the property. We just installed top of the line key/lock systems for our doors. No more card swiping at our hotel! This enhances the security for our guests. We are also installing new carpet in all of our corridors beginning Monday October 1st. We definitely agree that it was in need of replacement and are fortunate enough to be able to address that obstacle. We are going to continue upgrading the hotel throughout the next year or so.

Please allow us the opportunity to serve as your home away from home the next time you are in the area. We would appreciate the opportunity to show you our updates.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked into hotel on a Thursday before Labor Day weekend 2012. Check-in was fairly quick. The lobby is clean and inviting. Room was a two queen set-up with plenty of space. There was no refrigerator. Television was old and the controller did not work well. Air conditioning was just ok as it seemed to labor getting room cool and was noisy. There was no bench or other area to put suitcase. Beds were comfortable. No hair dryer in bathroom and the shower head was not adjustable. The carpet in the room and hallways appeared very old with many stains. The ice machine near my room seemed empty often. Breakfast was average. There are not a lot lodging options in Buffalo Grove proper but there are more once you get outside of the immediate area. Overall, I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Good afternoon. Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are indeed in process of planning and ordering new items for our hotel. First and foremost being the hallway carpet. It's currently in route to a local warehouse and then will be installed. I apologize for the inconvience of no refrigerator in our rooms. As we are always listening to our guests requests, we do have some available upon request. And just in the closet is the luggage rack. I hope you reconsider staying at our hotel again. We are in the process of upgrades and appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

this Wyndham property looked like is has been there for a while, but our room was very nice, it had vaulted ceiling and was very spacious. we also enjoyed the all you can eat breakfeast buffet at the hotel, pool was good and overall a great hotel out of the way on the way to Chicago cubs game.

Room Tip: try the breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
tpr136: Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We definitely put forth every effort to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay while in our area. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. It's Bear season. :-)

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vista, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I just got back from a trip to chicago which had us staying at the Wyndham Garden in Buffalo Grove.

I have to say that this was one of the most disappointing hotel stays I've had in a while. We had 4 people in the room, 2 adults and 2 children.

It was a constant fight with the staff to get more towels. With 4 people in the room, we had 3 bath towels and TWO washcloths, and one hand towel. I made repeated attempted to obtain additional towels but never did get more than a single bath towel.

The room was very humid, despite the weather being fairly reasonable over the weekend and having the AC up high all night to compensate.

The breakfast, which was only slightly better than "continental" was not included, so even more so disappointing.

The entire building was looking it's age. Doors looked quite abused and carpets were worn out. Often there was a wait at the desk for an attendant to return as there was never more than one available.

Pluses? The beds were comfortable. Oh wait, the down comforters they had on the bed were two short for the bed. If you pulled them up to your neck, your feet were exposed. With the AC on full blast this was a problem.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences you encountered at our hotel. As we are very much aware of the aged carpet and such in our hotel, and for that we are getting ready to install brand new corridor carperting throughout our hotel. Please consider giving us another try when you are back in the area. We will go above and beyond to ensure you are comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is clean, friendly and very convenient. Room had a balcony. Very quiet place. Indoor pool and hot tub were great for winding down at the end of the day.
The breakfast was very tasteful and the service was great.
I will stay here again.

Room Tip: This place is only two stories, but try to get a corner room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60089, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words regarding our property. The corner rooms with the patio or balcony definitely makes the room feel like a suite with the outdoor access to the beautiful center courtyard. Please choose us again in your future trips to the Chicagoland area.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove

Address: 900 West Lake Cook Road, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Buffalo Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Buffalo Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove Hotel Buffalo Grove
Wyndham Buffalo Grove
Buffalo Grove Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Inn Buffalo Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.