We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange as it may seem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookfield Zoo

Brookfield Zoo
8400 W. 31st St., (First Ave. and 31st St.), Brookfield, IL 60513
708-485-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 attractions in Brookfield
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 216-acre zoo with over 400 species of animals.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Strange as it may seem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The holiday programs at the zoo are a family event. Kid's or grand-kids can share the experience of the beautifully decorated scenes. And of course the animals are always a joy! And somehow it brings you back in time to a scene when you experienced it in the same way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    128
    60
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Zoo In the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have been to several Zoos though-out the country. This one is the best. The enclosures are amazing and very well kept. This zoo takes while to get through so make sure to use the map to make sure you don't miss anything.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun With the Animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Brookfield Zoo is one of the best zoo`s that i have ever been to. They have every type of animal, an event almost every month, a train ride around the park, and spray centers for summer days when it gets hot. The best part about Brookfield Zoo is that it doesn`t matter what the weather is like, there are many indoor exhibits that are available during good or bad weather conditions. I would recommend going during either spring or summer and if you want to avoid the insane crowd of people, i would recommend going during the week (after school if you want to bring your kids). There is also the option of becoming a member of the zoo and getting great deals every time you visit. Have nothing to do? This is definitely the place to go!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange Park, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not just for kids-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A great place to go to see animals from all over the world. The indoor exhibits offer a break from any kind of weather plus a chance to visit another "world" There is an old time grandeur- classic architechture and modern exhibits. You can picnic or visit one of the many concessions. A great place to take a walk and see everything from a Silverback Gorilla to a black widow spider.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice but glad we went in the winter during their FREEze days!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Seems like it would be a wonderful zoo in the summer and we still had a great time in the winter. Only gripe is that for a very sparse lunch that really was barely tolerable we paid $40 for lunch - thank goodness we had got in free then I felt like that was a fair way to support the zoo. If we go in the summer ever, we'll definitely pack lunches! Animals that were out were beautiful and the lack of crowds was a definite bonus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookfield Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Brookfield Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookfield Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brookfield Zoo to your Saves list