We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See Attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookfield Zoo

Brookfield Zoo
8400 W. 31st St., (First Ave. and 31st St.), Brookfield, IL 60513
708-688-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 216-acre zoo with over 400 species of animals.
Woodridge, Illinois, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must See Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I grew up not far from the Brookfield Zoo, so my parents took me often. My children have also grown up with trips to the zoo. There is so much to see and do that you can't do it all in one day. The dolphin show is wonderful and the Children's zoo allows the kids to pet and touch animals. Lots of shows and restaurants as well. For anyone touring the Chicago area, please do not miss visiting the Brookfield Zoo!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    158
    72
    32
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer Glen, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Looking Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Always improving this Zoo.
Bear Habitat is a great new addition and my son always loves going in the Swamp.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best zoo in the western suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been going threre for over 50 yrs. Went there as a child and took my children there frequently. Now, as an adult without children still fun to go and see the animals. We were there over Christmas to see the beautiful lights at night time. The place is huge and clean with lots to see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cold in the winter but free.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to the zoo just to see the Dolphin Show ($4 admission) and it didnt dissapoint. The penguins and puffins were great to see along with the few other animals they had out in the cold. Im sure it would be better but more crowded in the Summer. Free admission to the zoo on certain days in the winter.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“GREAT ZOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the best zoos in the country and I've been to lots of them. Lots of space, good signage, great parking, lots of available food, stroller rentals, and handicap chair rentals also. You can even rent space for birthday party then see the zoo after the party. Love the well maintained exhibits. I love the zoo. If you are there in the winter.. check it out in December too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookfield Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Brookfield Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookfield Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.