We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chain restaurant disguised as a brewpub.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BrickStone Restaurant & Brewery

BrickStone Restaurant & Brewery
557 William Latham Drive, Bourbonnais, IL 60914
815-936-9277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Bourbonnais
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chain restaurant disguised as a brewpub.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Chose this based on trip advisor #1 rating when we found ourselves overnighting in this town. It's the summer home of Chicago Bears so maybe that's why it seemed a little crazy. Chain restaurant disguised as a brewpub. While the beer is good, food is the same mediocre bar food you'd get at any chain brew house, red robin, Applebee's etc. Service was amateur--we were 5 bites into our salads when our dinner showed up, then we waited till meal almost over for our 2 nd beer to show up. Unfortunately by 3 am we were both the victims of food poisoning and spent the rest of the night taking turns hugging the porcelain god. So I cannot recommend this place at all for the food although we liked the beer well enough, and I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good service, food, and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place was pretty busy on a Wednesday night, but we got seated within 10 minutes of arriving. Our waitress was very friendly and was able to accommodate my vegetarian requests. The rest of my family enjoyed their popcorn that's cooked in bacon lard and is even sprinkled with cheese and bacon. It seemed like a signature appetizer there. My husband enjoyed tasting a variety of their different beers from their microbrewery. Our food was cooked properly and was served hot. The atmosphere was a nice, but a bit loud. The value for the food too, wasn't bad. Overall, we had a good dining experience and would come back if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A local pub with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Lots of offerings on the menu. Lots of sandwiches- nice that the sandwiches always come with soups or fries. The potato soup is cheesy and tasty.

Big portions. Noisy, but still comfortable. Lots of beers - some that have won International awards. (I don't drink it, so can't review it here).

Families welcome and comfortable enough for anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been spoiled with rather fine dining in my life and can honestly say it is exactly what it is...a brew pub restaurant. Theyve done it well. Nothing over the top, decently priced, and casual. Sometimes you just need a good burger! If by chance I am back in the area, I would go back again. We went with 6 people. Everyone enjoyed their food. The cherry ale was really good as well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

While driving through Illinois with the family I found this little place using the TripAdvisor app. All the good ratings are well deserved as this restaurant pleased everyone. The popcorn appetizer wasn't as good as advertised but still good nonetheless. Great nachos--at most places you'll get something out of proportion with nachos (either too many chips and not enough toppings or vice versa). Everything was in perfect proportion and tasted great. This place is a great find and well worth the trip off the freeway when you've tired of the fast food road trip grind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BrickStone Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to BrickStone Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BrickStone Restaurant & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.