We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free options not safe for those with celiac” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lucca Grill

Lucca Grill
116 E Market St, Bloomington, IL 61701-4019
309-828-7521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 227 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free options not safe for those with celiac”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I'd heard Lucca had gluten free pizza and pasta and was excited to try it. I have celiac disease so called ahead to make sure they could make the dishes without risk of contamination with the gluten containing dishes. It is not. They told me they did not make the dishes in a separate area and that they use the same utensils as the dishes with gluten.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is such a great restaurant and so much better than the chains on Veterans' Pkwy. I love that they take reservations! Pizza is seriously excellent. Parking in back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Traveling thru the area and the girl at the hotel desk recommended this place. Great pizza. Crust not much thicker than a cracker and very crisp. My wife had lasagna and loved it. She even had some to take home. Will be back to try another pizza next time we are in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great old time bar with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Super thin crust pizza. Cold beer and friendly people. Old time feel and atmosphere. Always suggest Lucca to any one looking for a place to stop when passing thru town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local family owned restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I try to visit Lucca when I am in Bloomington for business. Their food is always great and the atmosphere is welcoming and friendly. The building inside and out is a historic landmark in old downtown Bloomington. If you're in a hurry, don't come expecting to be seated quickly at dinner ... it's busy, so come early or later ... and you'll see why.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lucca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucca Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.