We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful at Christmas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Davis Mansion State Historic Site

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site
1000 Monroe Dr, Bloomington, IL 61701
(309) 828-1084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Bloomington
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
eureka, il
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful at Christmas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is so much fun to go through this at Christmastime. When we entered the front door, music wafted to our ears with violins playing in the background. They were baking cookies so that smelled wonderful also! They take you through the mansion explaining the hx of it all. Very interesting and beautiful place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delight of Lincoln Era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Blast to the Past! This beautifully restored mansion was the home of David Davis, friend of Abrham Lincoln. It sits on beaitful grounds and gardens where many festivals and events take place at the mansion. During the year the home is opened for holiday showing which are very special reinactments of the period when Judge Davis lived. It is worth the time to see this home if you are interested in history or architecture.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great historical mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A beautiful historical mansion in Bloomington/Normal with lots of special events. I would recommend a visit during the Christmas season when you can see just how the Victorian's decorated for Christmas. A magical time for the whole family. I'd also recommend the Garden walk that happens every June.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historically accurate reflection in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have visited numerous times and enjoyed each time. The home is decorated in the traditional period Christmas motif in December, making this visit extra special.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“If you like Victorian era homes, don't miss this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited the David Davis Mansion during the Christmas holidays a few years ago. The entire home is decked out in period holiday decorations and is absolutely gorgeous! It is really something special and I highly recommend it. However, I don't think kids under 12 would be much interested in it, so best to leave the little ones at home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Davis Mansion State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to David Davis Mansion State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Davis Mansion State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.