We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically accurate reflection in time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David Davis Mansion State Historic Site

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site
1000 Monroe Dr, Bloomington, IL 61701
(309) 828-1084
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historically accurate reflection in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have visited numerous times and enjoyed each time. The home is decorated in the traditional period Christmas motif in December, making this visit extra special.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“If you like Victorian era homes, don't miss this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited the David Davis Mansion during the Christmas holidays a few years ago. The entire home is decked out in period holiday decorations and is absolutely gorgeous! It is really something special and I highly recommend it. However, I don't think kids under 12 would be much interested in it, so best to leave the little ones at home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mansion on the Prairie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having toured many southern plantation homes and many millionaire mansions, I didn't have high expectations for the David Davis Mansion - Davis was an early settler (early 1800s after Illinois became a state in 1818), attorney, and investor in the development of Bloomington. He later became a Supreme Court Justice. His home is outstanding, filled with interesting memorabilia, exquisite design features and lots of history. It easily competes with other homes I've toured. Sarah's garden is maintained by the local Master Gardener group and is as true to the original as it could be.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St. Patricks Day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Tour was very interesting - from the Irish servants point of view - my kids paid attention the entire time and loved the corned beef as a bonus at the end.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remington, Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Former Vice President's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Toured on a special garden tours event. Enjoyed the restored house with original furnishings, as well as the garden.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Davis Mansion State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to David Davis Mansion State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Davis Mansion State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added David Davis Mansion State Historic Site to your Saves list