We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Patricks Day Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David Davis Mansion State Historic Site

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site
1000 Monroe Dr, Bloomington, IL 61701
(309) 828-1084
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Historic sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Pontiac, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St. Patricks Day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Tour was very interesting - from the Irish servants point of view - my kids paid attention the entire time and loved the corned beef as a bonus at the end.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Remington, Indiana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Former Vice President's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Toured on a special garden tours event. Enjoyed the restored house with original furnishings, as well as the garden.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Halloween was fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went for Halloween one year & they give the kids candy after the tour. The house is very nicely decorated. Another time, the staff was in period costumes. They are very knowledgeable on David Davis and Blm/Normal. Been there a few times and always enjoy it. Very small donation requested. Worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

small fee but worth the money. Well furnished and restored home. usually decorated for holidays. small walk through garden and stables.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, worth touring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our tour of the David Davis Mansion. We parked just past the gardens to the right of the house, and then had to walk all of the way back to the front gate to the visitor's center. If you have family members who can't walk very far, be sure to drop them at the visitor's center before you park the car. We were warmly greeted. The introductory film was very interesting and educational and gave us good background information that enhanced our tour of the house. Our docent, Linda, did an excellent job of showing the house to us. She carried a notebook that contained the facts about the house and the family and referred to it occasionally in response to our questions. I appreciated that she was committed to getting the facts straight. The tour ends at a fairly tacky gift shop, but there might have been some gems there that I just missed. There is an outbuilding that chronicles Abraham Lincoln's work as a circuit judge. We stumbled on it by accident, but it was well worth seeing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Davis Mansion State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to David Davis Mansion State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Davis Mansion State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.