We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Then Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1031 Wylie Drive, Bloomington, IL 61704 (Formerly Bloomington Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better Then Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Usually when we visit Holiday Inn Express Motels, we expect a reasonably high level of quality, but this location exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms were immaculate, had no pet odor (we're pet owners who travel with our pet) and quiet. Job well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am so glad to hear we exceed your expectations! I will be sure to pass along the great compliments to my staff!

Thank you,
Julie Burr, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
17
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This room was booked with a points package and the hotel is not responding to the fact that the points have not been issued in almost 2 months. I have contacted IHG and filled out the missing points forms and keep being told they are not getting a response from this hotel. To charge extra for a room and not provide what I paid for is very disturbing and think there may be some legal issue with this.

Room Tip: The hotel is just OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and leaving us feedback. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the service received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message regarding your review.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The property looks nice, and when you enter the hotel, it looks the nice ambience, but that’s it………….
And here the original story starts……….
**** Room was not cleaned and re-stocked very well, seemed like they were trying to save on amenities. The volvo repair shop next door loves to run their fork-lifts at seven in the morning, hope you didn't plan on sleeping anytime after that.
**** Breakfast the was an absolute joke. Female employees who was sipping a glass of OJ telling the other employee that it didn't taste fresh. Breakfast was missing a fruit choice most mornings, bananas were very green. The visual presentation of the breakfast area left much to be desired. It felt like they'd put out whatever they felt like putting out that day (which wasn't much) or that they hadn't properly planned the breakfast order for the week and the items left out were leftovers from the week before.
The oj and apple juice tasted funny. The bagels were hard and the warm food was not warm. There did not look like there were too many people at the hotel

**** During our 3 days stay, pan cake machine had a label, it’s not working, and every day when you ask the kitchen staff about it, she mentioned please check the note that it’s not working, and for neat 3 days it’s the same story.
**** When ever my wife asked a tray to have breakfast for the little kids in the room, the kitchen lady reluctant to provide one, and she was looking with strange look towards my wife.
**** Last day I found that we were charged $$ 38 for Long distance calls, although those calls were made to another number in Bloomington for 309 number, after inquiring the manager, she declined to do anything, and said that you made these calls, and we have to cover our expenses, you should know that these calls are not local, although they didn’t mentioned that 309 (which is a local area code) have limitations. And also she don’t want to reduce the charges, neither want to help any regard.
**** The workout room was adequate, if all you're looking for is a treadmill. The towels are disgusting; thin and worn. I hated the positioning of the equipment, too. Not sure how they pass this off as a gym.
**** One of the side door which is close to our room was not functional and it was like that for next 3 days, seems that they don’t bother to have a handy man to fix the things.
***** Worst thing is that we had the first snow on Jan 01, 2013 and when I woke up and tried to move out my car from the parking lot, there was no snow removed and very hard to move the car, it become worse at night because of the lower temperature made the snow like you were walking on the ice slate, and myself and kids got slipped on that.
When I asked about it to the management, everyone had a different story, that they were not able to arrange the snow removal on time, no one shows up to clean the snow, and when I asked this question to the Manager (Julie), she said that they will not arrange any snow removal, until there will more than 15 inch of snow on the ground, although the other hotels just close to them (even Wal-Mart and Cinemas and volvo repair shop clean their parking lots) clean their drive ways and parking lots. I said if God forbidden someone falls in your parking lot just because you didn’t bother to clean the snow and if they will sue for this…. She said she understand that situation and will be ready for that. They said only remove the snow from the main door, and it looks that she meant that you should take care of yourselve in the parking lot of Holiday Inn, enjoy and be the guest of Holiday Inn Bloomington.
She didn’t want to admit the mistake neither ready to do anything to rectify that issue.
We were not offered anything in return for the issues we brought up to the person at the desk neither from the manager. That might have helped.

**** Also, the Wi-Fi access in this hotel is spotty. Just another annoyance on this trip
**** When we booked the room, we asked for 2 queen size bed room, and when we were reached in the room, it was 2 twin size bed sets, and it’s totally opposite according to the Holiday Inn standards.
When we asked about it, they said that they only have these beds, but the guy on the reception n helped and said that while you are staying here for few days, he arranged a bigger suit in the same price.
In this room, we had no pillows or blankets for the pull out bed. The bathroom had drips from paint on the wall. It also looks like someone tried to fix the bathroom ceiling and did a poor room. But we got extra blankets and pillows later, but it was provided by the same person who was working at the reception and then also helping the customer’s request as well.
**** We were disappointed in that we were not recognized as a Priority Club member upon check in. Also, received no Priority Club Perks. Otherwise, the facilities were very nice and comfortable.
Recommendation to others: Don’t go to this Hotel, totally waste of money and no loyalty with the Customers, totally running the name of Holiday Inn……. Holiday Inn management needs to check this hotel, as they are not doing their best for the Customers hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mirbaz1,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived without a reservation. The staff first quoted a rate which I found unreasonable for low season and many rooms were vacant. When I thanked the staff and turned to leave, I was offered a rate that was reasonable and I accepted.

Room is huge and tastefully decorated. Bathroom was spacious and pretty clean. There were cracks around the side of tub that could be further cleaned but all in all it was clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. Check in and check out were efficient and problem free.

Breakfast area was spacious. Food selection was not great for the price paid. It is a pity no real eggs from such a large hotel. There were egg patties that didn't taste like real eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent two days at the Holiday Inn Express in Bloomington for our family Christmas celebration with five families and all of us were very pleased with the rooms, breakfast, facilities, and especially the staff. Michelle, the day time desk person, went out of her way to accommodate us and make our stay an outstanding experience. The meetng room was perfect for our gathering and activities and the pool and hot tub were excellent for the kids. The rooms and hallways were clean and bright and the beds were very comfortable. Except for the blizzard one afternoon and evening, we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant, breakfast was put out around 5:40 which let us get to our 6:00 am meeting. Cookies at night. Pool looked nice along with a hot tub. No nearby places to eat. Convenient to Interstate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We checked in with a large group (5 rooms). They were completely booked the night before so understandably we couldn't check in early as they needed time to clean the rooms. When we arrived, they checked one of our groups into a dirty room that had not been cleaned. I understand this happens sometimes, especially when things get busy and hectic at hotels. The staff was accommodating in getting us a new room for this group. Another room smelled like smoke even though this is a nonsmoking hotel, an the staff again was more than helpful in spraying down the room with air freshener. However, as I was in the lobby, I noticed the maintenance log was left out on the counter with an entry that said 'saw a mouse in room' under room 206 (which coincidentally was MY room). I was reassured that this had been 'taken care of' the night before. As I was settling into my room, I found garbage under the sink, behind the pillows, and a few things on the carpet. It just looked really sloppy. As a former holiday inn express employee of another location, I know how things are supposed to look and be run. This just looks like housekeeping was in a rush and got sloppy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West

Address: 1031 Wylie Drive, Bloomington, IL 61704 (Formerly Bloomington Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#9 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomington Inn and Suites hotel provides quiet in a busy city. We are located off 1-55 and 1-74. Our comfortable Bloomington, IL lodgings are conveniently located just a few minutes from the Bloomington Normal-Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI) and the Amtrak train station. Business travelers will find that our Bloomington hotel is the perfect place to stay with our close proximity to many area businesses such as the Interstate Center, State Farm Insurance headquarters, US Cellular Coliseum and Mitsubishi Motors. Also located near our Bloomington West accommodations are Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University and Heartland Community College. You'll have no trouble teeing off in the Bloomington-Normal area, home to five golf courses and an indoor driving range all very close to our hotel. Our Bloomington hotel is also within ten miles of the Children's Discovery Museum and the Miller Park Zoo. Come stay with us and enjoy premium amenities that include a heated indoor pool and whirlpool spa, free internet, and a hot buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.