We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1031 Wylie Drive, Bloomington, IL 61704 (Formerly Bloomington Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Minnesota
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Somewhat isolated from town, but wonderfully located for a freeway stop. Good accommodations. Clean pleasant room, comfortable bed and helpful staff. There are no real restaraunts around. Fast food mainly. The reviewer that mentioned an adjoining restaraunt may have been thinking of a different hotel. I recommend this hotel, but perhaps l ky for a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
17
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was expecting something dingy because it's an "express" but I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean, room smelled fresh and the lobby was pretty nice. we arrived at 9pm on a Friday, and waited about 20 minutes because the lady right in front of us took forever and there was only 1 guy working, Joshua. But Joshua was super nice and was working really really hard. By the time it was our turn, there were about 5 people waiting in line behind us. Joshua provided great customer service and we had a room with a king bed. bed was comfy, nice pillow, spacey room. the bathtub had a small circle of the plastic peeling off the floor, but it wasn't a big deal. Continental breakfast was great- a pancake machine that made them fresh in 1 minute, french toast, eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, bagels, croissants, cereal, milk, juice etc. (which did taste funny, but i have never tasted juice in a hotel continental breakfast that tasted fresh). We didn't try the pool or fitness center. We paid $80 through hotwire and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Il
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A wonderful hotel, close to airports and many fine dining establishments. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous and the cleanliness of the hotel is above none we have ever stayed at. The pool was just the right temperature and Baxter's Grill adjoining the hotel had the most fabulous food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had previously stayed at his hotel and for what i needed it for (a quick overnight stay). It was fine. The room was clean, beds comfy, but the bathroom had visible signs of hair in different locations. I did not use the breakfast facilities.

I recently made a reservation for a one night stay that had a cancellation policy that forfeited the night's stay. Unfortunately, I needed to canceI my reservation due to a change in travel plans. I called Holiday Inn National reservation # to cancel and they told me that the Bloomington HI Express only had the power to refund my one night's stay. I called and the manager would not refund my $89.00. I informed him that I would be a returning customer since I have business to do in Bloomington/Normal in the foreseeable future, but his lack of flexibility on him refunding my money would effect my decision to stay at this Holiday Inn Express again. He stated that it makes more sense to him to uphold his cancellation policy then to keep a prior and future customer. He had total power to refund my money and his lack of business savvy, management and customer service experience leaves me no choice, but to take my business to the Marriott Bloomington/Normal 9/28/12, 12:30pm

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at a Holiday Inn Express. Unfortunately, I believe that this has been posted on our page by mistake, as we do not have a male manager at our property. I am the only one who makes those decisions and I normally do work with the guest to help them out if at all possible. It is unfortunate that this happened to you. If there is anything that the Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West can do for you in the future please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean. The room was quite spacious. Beds were quite comfortable. Breakfast was good, too, and was included in the price of our room, which was extremely reasonable. The wireless internet worked well. The only downside was that the spa was out of order in the pool area. Otherwise, everything was perfect. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Recently remodeled hotel is fresh looking. The room was very clean and comfortable. Overall very good but not excellent because the wireless was spotty, available then not, which is really frustrating on business travel. Not enough bandwidth? And the bathroom was very small. Barely room to turn around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Out of the places I've stayed in Bloomington this has been my favorite so far. This is the only place that has yet to get me back for a second week.

The rooms are nice and large, and everything (except the bathtub) seems new and clean.

Pros: The rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges, always a great bonus. Free WiFi that actually works with decent speed! Typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast.

Cons: small workout room, pool looks murky, bathtub has rust spots.

Overall the pros greatly outweigh the cons. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West

Address: 1031 Wylie Drive, Bloomington, IL 61704 (Formerly Bloomington Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#9 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomington Inn and Suites hotel provides quiet in a busy city. We are located off 1-55 and 1-74. Our comfortable Bloomington, IL lodgings are conveniently located just a few minutes from the Bloomington Normal-Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI) and the Amtrak train station. Business travelers will find that our Bloomington hotel is the perfect place to stay with our close proximity to many area businesses such as the Interstate Center, State Farm Insurance headquarters, US Cellular Coliseum and Mitsubishi Motors. Also located near our Bloomington West accommodations are Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University and Heartland Community College. You'll have no trouble teeing off in the Bloomington-Normal area, home to five golf courses and an indoor driving range all very close to our hotel. Our Bloomington hotel is also within ten miles of the Children's Discovery Museum and the Miller Park Zoo. Come stay with us and enjoy premium amenities that include a heated indoor pool and whirlpool spa, free internet, and a hot buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.