We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love dining here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baxter's American Grill

Baxter's American Grill
3212 E Empire Street, Bloomington, IL 61704
(309) 662-1114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Baxter's American Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 225 restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Haeffle Drive
Transit: Conveniently located on the Teal "J" line. Cab service is approximately $5 from downtown Bloomington. Arriving guests from the Central Illinois Regional Airport can simply contact the our adjoining hotel (Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites)for a complimentary ride to the restaurant.
Description: Experience the contemporary decor, freshly made entrees from our professional chef and exceptional service. The restaurant offers seating for groups from 1- 80. Our outdoor patio is perfect for the summer evenings and our lounge is an exciting setting to view your favorite sports game with friends. Menu includes: Cedar Plank Salmon, Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Red Snapper, BBQ Ribs, Homemade Soups, Fresh Salads, and many other choices. Come in and experience Baxter's...casual atmosphere, quality food at reasonable prices. Our concept includes a variety of seafood, chops and steaks and is also a family friendly environment.
Downs, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love dining here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been to Baxter's several times. My kids are 11 and 13 and also enjoy the restaurant, but I wouldn't take little ones here. The last time was as a party of 6 and it was prom night for one of the local high schools. Despite that, service was fantastic. Our wait time was not any longer than on other evenings. The food here is always very good. They use fresh ingrediants and the wait staff is very knowledgable. When you go, try the Butter Cake for dessert. It is wonderful (but you might want to split it - very rich).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    53
    26
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Bloomington and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our server Chris really added to the experience. We've dined at Baxter's before several times but service was lackluster and the place didnt seem all that busy. Food has always been good here but without great service and ambience it doesnt sparkle. We were seated immediately on a Sat night in a romantic corner booth- nice! The decor is rather dark, severe and stark. Fresh flowers on tables would be a nice touch to add some warmth and interest.

6 oz filet done to perfection medium rare: charred outside, warm and red inside. Tender and tasty. Salmon salad was big, fresh and nice.
Strawberry shortcake dessert is a nice twist on the classic, with flaky pasty layers and cream filling with lots of ripe sliced strawberries. I like shortcake better but this was a lighter version for an interesting change.

A live band outside was cool!

Will return and advise friends to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purduewriter91
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here tonight. It was awesome. Casey was our waitress. I had the cedar plank salmon with Baxter's salad and asparagus. Cooked perfectly!! Hubby had 8 oz filet mignon. Was also awesome. Can't recommend this place enough. Doing it right in central Illinois. We drove from Morton to have dinner. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns Harbor, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great to wander in from our hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the adjoining Holiday Inn and Baxter's came highly recommended from our fellow guest. We had an appetizer, spilt a fantastic salad, and enjoyed a bottle of wine! Our server was fantastic and the food was super! Stop in whether you're staying the night or in the area ~ it was well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Food was great....but they really packed us in. Food was cold by the time we got to the table to eat it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baxter's American Grill also viewed

 
Bloomington, IL
Bloomington, IL
 

Been to Baxter's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baxter's American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.