We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian in the near western burbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Notte Ristorante

La Notte Ristorante
6822 Windsor Ave, Berwyn, IL 60402-3441
(708) 749-1800
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Notte Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 112 Restaurants in Berwyn
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grove
Transit: Across the street from the Burlington line Berwyn station.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in the near western burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our 1st visit to our daughter's new home in Riverside had us seeking Italian in unfamilair terrirtory and we were fortunate to stumble upon La Notte.
Small, family run restaurant where they want you to feel at home and enjoy a great meal.
Both salads(Caprese & Caesar) were nicely prepared with fresh ingredients.
All entrees (Sausage & Peppers, Gnochi, Shrimp Fra Diavolo & Chicken Parm) were excellent.
Save room for dessert. The signature dessert is chocolate overload ... and worth it.
Definelty will return to this one every time we return to the Chicago area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Group of four went back to this spot and again enjoyed a wonderful meal and good wine. I had the veal and the others had pasta and seafood.
The service was also very good and the owner came by a few times to ensure everything was to our liking.
The location is also nice and offers plenty of free parking. Off the beaten path a little right in the heart of Berwyn.
We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Giovanni's delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Step into the world of true Italian delights! Giovanni, the owner, is friendly, innovative and creates the most amazing Italian dishes you can imagine. They serve the best fresh oysters, clams and homemade pasta that you will dream of having over and over again. I have sent so many people there from doctors to students and all of them keep going back. It is like a secret hideaway in Berwyn, right by the depot, so you can take the train and enjoy having some fine wine and take the train back home. My husband goes there every time he is in Chicago because of the quality of food and the owner makes everyone feel like they are coming home for a visit. Real raviolis and manicotti and to top it off.....tiramasu! I wish I was there right now!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor service, ok food, high prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We've been to LaNotte a few times. Although we've had good experiences there, the last few times have been frustrating. I'm sure our waitress lost our order; however, there was no apology or any kind of compensation for waiting over an hour for our food. All the tables around us ordered after us and left before we received our food! We politely asked about the issue and her response was that the kitchen was busy. (That did not make sense.) The food was drenched in oil - and just "ok" quality. Very disappointing. :( We live close to there - but we'll be driving further distances to try a different place to eat!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Frank Sinatra and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Awesome place to relax and eat. I was looking for a nice lunch place with a view and this was recommended to me by locals. WOW

Good: location, people and train watching, service, custom food, outside seating, nice folks

Bad: nothing

Inspired: Giovanni and his amazing food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Notte Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Notte Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Notte Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.