We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Benton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Benton to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Benton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   711 W. Main, I-57. Exit 71, Benton, IL 62812 (Formerly Super 8 Benton/West City Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benton
Labrador City, Canada
1 review
“Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We checked into hotel and when we went to our room we noticed bugs on the window sill. Most of them were dead and when we rested on the bed we noticed bugs on the wall around the lights by the bed and actually crawled on my husbands hand. When we complained to the front desk they informed us they had a couple of rooms that insects had gotten into... why did they rent the rooms if they KNEW they had BUGS.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    6
    6
    20
See reviews for
18
14
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christopher, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

when we arrived we noticed anyone could come into the hotel at anytime. no security cameras at all except in the lobby. the breakfast if that is what they call it if you dont get there by 6:30 am forget it they dont put that much out and there is nobody in the lobby to get more if you need more. we seen drug needles in the parking lot 10 feet from the entrance.they will just walk into your room to clean it even if you put out the do not disturb sign. this is the worst place to stay. my advice is keep driving untill something else turns up. i would not want anyone i know to stay at this dive. we would have been better off sleeping sleeping in the car for the week we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Believe the other bad reviews, this place is disgusting! My room's floor had some sort of animal hair all over it, and needed vacuuming terribly. The counter in the bathroom had some sort of weird dried stuff (vomit possibly) all over the edge, mold around the sink, soap residue be the faucet, and the bathtub was so dirty it was brown with dirty footprints. The heater was a noisy rusty mess, and the beds didn't have any of the nice plastic sheeting you see so often now days, so I had the lovely treat of seeing dried yellow drool printed pillows peeking out at me from under my pillowcase when I arrived.
The hotel wasn't secure at all either, the main doors didn't even close properly, and every time I went past them they were propped open. With the sort of unsavory people I saw meandering through the parking lot, this lack of security is a poor choice!
As another reviewer said, "keep on driving"! Heed this advice, you'll probably get a better Super 8 further on down the road!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This place is a dump. It's been a long time since we've stayed somewhere this bad. The rooms were worn & dirty looking. The towels felt like sandpaper. I haven't seen such a small bath towel in over 25 years. No coffee in the lobby except during breakfast. The owner watched our every move when we got took one pastry & coffee back to our room rather than sit in the nasty looking 'breakfast area'.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was the worse hotel i have ever seen. When we got there we went in and got our room number. We went to our room and it was FILTHY. There was old chocolate and crackers on one of the beds and the carpet had black stuff all over it. We got a new room and it was a little better but not much. We had to purchase sleeping bags to put on the bed they were that gross. The breakfast bar was seriously a toaster and microwave. We were supposed to stay two nights but after the first we couldnt handle another night. I would never recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oglesby, il
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

the lobby was nice and the desk clerk friendly. although we had a room on the first floor they were numbered in the3 hundreds and second floor was 4 hundreds did not understand that. the room carpet was very worn and the room was very empty looking. they could put in ref and microwaves or another sitting chair. the sheets were very dingy looking and the area outside of the motel needed cleaning up. wpuld not reccomend this hotel at all. the breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

This is the one of the nice hotels we have stayed in after a long time. The price was good and this place actually have a real breakfast like Sasuage gravy , biscuit, waffles i mean real breakfast. Front desk staff was really good and haelpful. We golf and fish all day long had came to the hotel had a good night sleep. We would recomend this hotel to any one

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Benton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Benton

Address: 711 W. Main, I-57. Exit 71, Benton, IL 62812 (Formerly Super 8 Benton/West City Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Benton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Benton 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Benton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Benton
Super Eight Benton
Benton Super 8
Benton Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Benton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.