We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you must” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 East Grand Ave, Bensenville, IL 60106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bensenville
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay here if you must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was not an ideal situation. Booked myself a last-minute room because I ended up having to stay an extra night in Chicago.

The hotel is under renovation and I would not recommend you come here whilst they are undergoing this process. Also note that the hotel is in Bensenville and it's about a 15-30 min drive, depending on the traffic.

Pros
+ The hotel staff were generally friendly and tried to be helpful with my needs
+ Breakfast is included
+ There is a microwave and tea kettle in the room

Cons
+ The room was freezing when I arrived - the housekeeping staff had not turned on the heater (there is no central air).
+ There is no one consistently manning the front desk, and the only service person available seems to be the driver who picked me up from O'Hare - they kept calling him when issues would arise
+ There was a random pole in the corner of my room when I arrived (see photo)
+ The rooms are barely sound-proof so I was able to hear the conversations of anyone walking down the hall quite clearly
+ The shower makes a terrible squealing sound
+ The TV was not working when I arrived and there was no TV guide

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    96
    55
    34
    24
See reviews for
126
40
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Planes shaking windows all night. Terrible shuttle response, sat at ohare for over an hour waiting for shuttle. Hotel was under construction with no mention of that online when making reservations. Evening receptionist told the shuttle driver that he was not allowed to give us a jump when we had a dead battery. Wow! Guy trying to be helpful and make a bad situation better and the evening receptionist won't let him. Never again. Avoid this one!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnOhareSouth, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We apologize if you feel you were not assisted by our hotel staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We have given countless guests jump starts as this is Chicago & the winters can cause car trouble. We have spoken to the staff to get clarification on what happened. At that time we did not have any jumper cables and that is what she was communicating to the shuttle driver, not that he could not help you. The front desk offered to look up road assistance or the computer in our business center was available to use but the gentleman said he had a phone he could look them up. As for the shuttle, it does only run once and hour at the top of the hour so depending on when you called, yes the wait can be anywhere from 20min to 1hr. The average wait time is 20-30min for most of our guests. We always appreciate feedback and are working to ensure a similar situation does not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was under $75 for my stay. The hotel is being renovated, but no issues avoiding those areas. My room was clean the only thing I had an issue with is that I was on the first floor and the windows would not lock which made me a little uncomfortable. Overall I had a good night sleep, a good free breakfast and was always greeted by the staff. For the price I would stay here again but will make sure to ask for an upper floor.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

First I arrived to discover that they are in the process of renovating the hotel. Half of the building is closed, you would think they would discount their prices with that going on. One night I was awakened by what I am sure was hammering --it was quite rhythmic: tap tap tap tap,...tap tap tap tap... on and on in the middle of the night.
There is very poor flow, like poor pressure from the rotating shower heads -- anyone who washes their hair needs a better water flow to get the shampoo properly rinsed out. I hope that is being corrected in the renovation.
There is extremely poor lighting in the rooms. There were 3 lights in the entire room, one in the entry, a bed table lamp, and a desk lamp, and it was DARK in that room. There was more light in the bathroom than the entire rest of the room. Another lamp, or better yet go over to the Microtel and check out all the lighting in each room. Dark rooms.

Now, to the real problem here: The fire. Yes, the fire alarm starting sounding EXTREMELY LOUD at about 3:10am. It was very cold outside, so I took 2 minutes to get dressed, grab my coat, and grab my backpack. In the hallway someone was coming from the nearest stairwell, stating that there was a smell of smoke in the stairwell, so I went to a different stairway. When I got down to the lobby the staff was sending people back to their rooms. Really? yes, and the lobby was full of smoke. The staff stated that there was a microwave 'on fire' in the hotel kitchen. They wanted everyone to return to their rooms. Meanwhile the fire alarm CLAXON was still screaming. I went outside and found several people dragging their suitcases out from the stairwell exit. When the alarm stopped sounding I returned to my room, looked out the window and saw that the fire department had arrived.

I have to object to the hotel staff sending people back to their rooms before the fire department arrived. I won't be returning to this hotel again. Country Inn and Suites, Bensenville, O'Hare South, Illinois

Room Tip: stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every precaution to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night before an early flight out of O'Hare. For less than $100 we got a one night stay (w/ complimentary breakfast), a shuttle to and from the airport, and our car parked while we were gone. I had looked at other airport park and fly hotels and none really compared to this one for the price. The check in staff was very nice, the room was comfortable and clean, and the 24 hour shuttle picked us up and dropped us off right on time with no problems. The night-time shuttle driver was amazing...he made our night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is under construction so that is something to consider. I never encountered any noise or problems with it, just that a lot is unfinished. I am very hard to please, so when I say the entire staff at this hotel was wonderful it is really true. Front desk people (males and females) were all very friendly, kind, and helpful. We left to fly out of O'Hare only to have our flight canceled. Called the hotel to see if we could get another room for the night and have the shuttle come pick us up (had no idea when that would be as we had to wait 2 hours in the United line, don't even get me started on them, to rebook). They said "No Problem, just call us when you are ready to be picked up." We called them and by the time we got to the shuttle area we waited about 5 minutes and he was there to get us. Shuttle runs VERY promptly and the man is very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a decent hotel near O'Hare to do a park-and-fly. What many of the hotels advertising park-and-fly don't tell you is that you have to pay a daily fee for parking. This is not the case with Country Inn in Bensenville. You get seven days of free parking when you book a room. That fact sold initially sold us. Add in that the hotel is very nice, staff is courteous, and the shuttle is extremely prompt. We were tentatively scheduled for a 2:15 return shuttle. We called the hotel to let them know our flight landed, went to the bus and shuttle terminal, and the hotel shuttle pulled in at 2:15 on the dot. We will definitely be staying again at the Country Inn Bensenville. I highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bensenville
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare Northwest
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chicago Elmhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South

Address: 777 East Grand Ave, Bensenville, IL 60106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Bensenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bensenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites o`Hare South
Country Inn & Suites o`Hare South Hotel Bensenville
Country Inn Bensenville
Bensenville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.