We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice portion sizes, but too pricey compared to other local taquerias.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Juan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
De Juan
1101 N State St, Belvidere, IL
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Belvidere
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Belvidere, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, nice portion sizes, but too pricey compared to other local taquerias.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Tasty menu with a wide variety. Used to be better, fresher food but it seems the owners have changed. Lost some charm but still tasty food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a small family owned restaurant. The food is excellent and very authentic. We had the chicken and steak fajitas. The prices are reasonable. We will return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Outstanding Food and Margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been eating regularly at Casa De Juan for several years. It is a small, Mexican cuisine, hole-in-the-wall in a strip mall. Dress is casual. Atmosphere is great. Juan can handle anything from four of us to our occasional mob of sixteen. We generally make reservations early in the afternoon. Sometimes, because it is very popular, we have to wait for our table. That is OK because Juan has a great bar. All flavors of Margarita's (frozen and on the rocks) are five star. You can order Margaritas by the 1/2 and full pitcher. The staff makes sure we don't run out of drinks, chips and salsa (mild and hot are available). Food is consistently excellent - hot, tasty and promptly served. The gigantic Juanito Burrito is fantastic and the best buy on the menu! You need to ask for the jalapeno's in your burrito. Fajitas De Juan are great, and most folks have to doggy bag because it is a huge serving. Juan always stops by our table several times to check on us. Casa De Juan will continue to be a regular hangout for us and our friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was good; small, warm and lively with customers. The service was good initiator but slow to follow up with drinks. Unfortunately, the food was lack luster. Suprisingly, nothing was spicy at all and all tortillas were flour. There was no hot sauce to be found and we actually had to track our waitress down to request some. The burrito war mostly bean and while the ingredients on the fish tacos were fresh, the grilled Tilapia was did not taste seasoned. Perhaps we caught them on a bad day, as I know several who LOVE the food, but I cannot recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GOOD MEXICAN FOOD AT A REASONABLE PRICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been to this place at least four times. The food is authentic Mexian cuisine. Dress casual and do not bother getting dressed up. For the money, the food and meal selection is good. The place is small so on a weekend night expect to wait a little while to get seated. It is best to go on a weeknight since it is less busier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.