We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too loud and too much grease” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smashburger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smashburger
842 North Randall Road, Batavia, IL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 70 Restaurants in Batavia
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Too loud and too much grease”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited on a recommendation of a friend. We were disappointed. I had the grilled chicken and she had a hamburger. Our food was so greasy that we felt sick after eating it. The seating is nice, but the eating area was extremely loud. To be fair, we visited during the dinner hour and it was very busy. Service was fine with just a few minutes wait for our food. My friend says Smashburger is great and visits frequently. I guess it is all based on what you are accustomed to eating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great burgers and chicken Awesome staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The employees are super helpful (especially considering it was my first time dining at Smash Burger). They were also very professional and polite. I had the Baja Burger. It was spicy and delicious. I loved the fresh jalapeños, guacamole and spicy mayo that came on it. I also tried the fries. They have rosemary on them and aren't too salty. Great place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Never had a bad sandwich here, including the grilled chicken. Check out the sweet potato fries and the Chicago burger on pretzel bun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Give me a five guys any day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

2nd time trying smash burger and have the same opinion…ok, but not good. Too heavy on the condiments. Sweet potato fries are ok they are just over cooked. If you don't like mustard don't get a burger with their special sauce. Store design is simple. Store was clean. Think I will stick with five guys.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good food and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Can't beat a good burger and this place always delivers! Staff is wonderful and food is great with a price that can't be beat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashburger also viewed

 

Been to Smashburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.