We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thala Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thala Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Thala Beach Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Touch of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and my husband spent our anniversary here recently and were greatly rewarded. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The accommodation, views, food and service were a delight to be had. The cocounut drinks were so refreshing and would have to be the best cocktail we have had anywhere. Highly recommend anyone visit this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    167
    43
    28
    7
See reviews for
74
592
27
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PORT REPUBLIC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Beautiful beach, great location, terrific little bungalows and an incredibly attentive staff. The food is generally good and creative, incorporating fresh local products. The grounds are lovely and the staff obviously cares a great deal for the property. They will go out of their way to make sure your needs are met, including sightseeing, car rental, air transport, etc. Wi fi is available at the lodge, but not in room. However, it keeps you from compulsively checking work emails and texts. Spa services were also very good.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are difficult to access due to geography. If a person has disabilities, they may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Thala for 5 nights earlier this month. A special treat for a significant birthday.

Not only is the location extraordinary, the service was impeccable and the food was great. We spent most mornings enjoying a 2 hour breakfast taking in the view and reading the papers (free wifi).

We didn't have a car so sampled everything that Thala had to offer. Dawn ocean swims, star gazing, lazy lunches, wildlife watching, sea kayaking and afternoon lounging by the pool. More than once we drank champagne at each of the gorgeous lookout points.

We normally are adventure tourists, cycle touring, hiking or camping. So this luxurious holiday was out of the ordinary but surprisingly not out of character. This is an eco-resort in the true sense of the word. I loved the fact the owners resisted the urge to replicate a urban concrete monstrosity that is common to port douglas. And have taken great care to rehabilitate the land.

I would recommend Thala to anyone who is looking to unwind and escape from reality. Every cent is worth it as you won't want to come home!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A great spot - quiet and is truly a secluded woodland/beach setting.

A few things to watch out for - we paid and extra $50 per night for the Eucalypt Bungalow which according to the web site "beckons the outside in with all rooms turned to maximise the views from their open sides and superb balconies". Not a hint of a view [mountain or otherwise] from Unit 26 and never had sun on the deck through the trees for any of the seven sunny days. Expected that from the Jungle Walk - that is why we upgraded.

Dinners are fair game but breakfast was what I thought very expensive - $33.50 per head for full. We spent $51 for two the first morning and that did not include a glass of juice for my wife ...

We enjoyed the restaurant and staff.

Room Tip: As above, watch for some semblance of a view with the Eucalypt Bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so pleased these clients enjoyed our secluded woodlands and beach setting, as well as our restaurant and staff. We are disappointed they didn't enjoy the experience of being amongst the forest canopy during their time in their bungalow - we have many guests choose the Eucalypt Bungalows especially for the views and ambience of wildlife & nature interactions. Regarding breakfast, there are a number of options guests are welcome to choose from according to budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Thala Beach Lodge with my husband and 6 year old son for 4 nights. I have to say that the written descriptions and photos had not prepared me for how lovely it is in real life. A long driveway leads to the main lodge, which sits nestled at he top of a hill and commands majestic views. We stayed in the cheapest lodge available, and although we didn't have the views, we still had our own quiet place with lots of room to move, surrounded by trees.

The bed wasn't all that comfortable, but I so enjoyed hearing the sound of absolute silence at night (with the odd bird call and the ocean in the distance), that I slept really well.

The restaurant is expensive so we only had breakfast there.

Unfortunately neither the restaurant nor the activities offered by the hotel (bird watching, star gazing - which starts at 9.30 pm) cater to children, which I feel is a shame. Nevertheless, our son loved having access to the chess boards and various board games on loan.

The TV in our room was small, as has been noted by other reviewers, but we weren't bothered by that. We don't have this kind of idyll and beach at home, whereas we do have a TV!

I would highly recommend this place, although I do caution families that it is geared to adults more than children.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so pleased these clients enjoyed our setting, views, accommodation, beach, serenity and natural ambience! We don’t provide a children’s entertainment program or ‘kids club’ as we find most families prefer to enjoy & explore our natural surrounds during their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I give Thala a 3.5 of 5. My husband and I stayed at Thala for the first part of our honeymoon. The area is beautiful and the staff is nice but, in our opinion, their prices are higher than they should be.

The stocked fridge and pantry are a nice thought, but you could get your own items much cheaper at Coles.

We avoided eating at the restaurant the whole time and ate much cheaper in town. We recommend the Wildlife Habitat. Brekkie was incredible!! It only cost us $15 each (plus admission but the experience was awesome and you can return for free for 3 days). Thalas brekkie didn't look any better, fewer options, but I can't comment on taste since we never had it.

Everything we compared in the gift shop was higher than Port Douglas as well. Convenience fees of having it right there I suppose.

The only thing that was truly remarkable about Thala was the location. The beach and trails were beautiful. Our Coral Sea Bungalow was very beautiful. The view was actually of pebbly beach though. The whole reason we'd wanted a Coral Sea view was for the chance to see whales. We obviously didn't see any looking out at the bay/shore. I don't understand why we were charged for a Coral Sea view when we didn't have it BUT after walking around, we were pretty sure we had the most secluded area which was nice.

I recommend staying here but I also recommend having a car so you can experience the area and shop around if prices are important to you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so pleased these clients enjoyed our secluded natural setting, walks, private-access beach, secluded bungalows and service levels. We are disappointed they didn't find our restaurant with its delicious, innovative cuisine and majestic views appropriate to their budget – however we are pleased they found other suitable alternatives in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We are Cairns locals and even though we have never stayed here we drop in for a meal, drinks or coffee whenever we want a treat or want to "show off" our beautiful region to interstate or overseas visitors. We've just returned from a mid afternoon visit and no matter how many times we return we are always gob-smacked by the stunning views that unfold as you climb that last flight of stairs and reach the dining area. Our visitors are always amazed at this real piece of paradise that sits so unpretentiously off the main road between Cairns and Port Douglas. The service, as usual, was impeccable (our dessert was deemed a little slow in coming so the head waiter insisted it be on the house) and the food delicious and classy. One night we'll stay over (we have viewed a room or two) but we are very aware that the rooms with the best views are very pricey.

Room Tip: Rooms with 270 degree views of the ocean would have to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thala Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Lodge

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach nestled in 145 acres of native forest, family-owned Thala is a deluxe eco and nature resort near Port Douglas. Sitting spectacularly atop a headland with breathtaking vistas, it provides an island-feel holiday from the mainland and is the perfect base to explore the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. Boutique timber bungalows are built high on stilts and nestle in the forest canopy, featuring either ocean or forest views. The views from the restaurant are panoramic across the mountains and coastline. Guests dine among the birds in the surrounding treetops enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly service. Osprey's Restaurant is open to the public 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.Paths meander through rainforests onto private sandy beaches placing guests in an unsurpassed secluded, relaxing environment. Complimentary guided onsite tours include a unique coconut odyssey, stargazing, nature walks and bird watching tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thala Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thala Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.