We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thala Beach Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little getaway...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in January in one of the Jungle Walk suites. The service by all staff was so friendly and welcoming. They are happy to help with anything you request and do it with a smile. The room which was nestled into the forest was lovely, nothing too flash but perfect for what we wanted. Private, clean, spacious with a nice big comfy bed. We really enjoyed relaxing with a few drinks on our balcony listening to the sounds of the forest before we went to dinner.

The restaurant is a little expensive but my partner thoroughly enjoyed his steak. Me being vegan obviously had limited choices on the menu but they were happy to turn the vegetarian pasta vegan for me. It was nice, but a little too oily for my liking. Personal preference... Breakfast was much of the same the next day, on the expensive side but still enjoyable and as usual, fantastic service.

The thing that really sets Thala apart is the location. You could spend days exploring all the bushwalks and surrounding beaches. We're going again in a weeks time, and this time we are going to grab one of the pre packed resort picnic baskets to take down and eat on the beach and watch the sun set. Can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    206
    53
    31
    10
See reviews for
98
716
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We staid for two nights in just before Christmas 2012, wished we had had more time.
The setting is great, away from everything and with a lovely views out over the sea.
The pool area is a bit small but it is a good pool. We were not able to use the beach as it was "stinger" season but it looked good.
The food was the best we had on our trip to Australia. The first night we had a picnic basket delivered to our room with seafood.
The second night we had our meal at the restaurant and it was superb.
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Idyllic setting with individual wooden bungalows, well separated from each other, in plots carved out of the rain forest.
Bespoke wood furnishings and balcony overlooking the rain forest.
Comfortable bed and arm chairs with DVDs available to borrow.
Excellent air-conditioning, bath and shower, but limited hot water.
Excellent breakfast and evening meal. Fantastic watching a dozen brightly coloured lorikeets in the trees only yards away while eating breakfast.
Welcoming coconut cocktails (drunk from a whole coconut) on arrival.
Superb picnic hampers delivered to rooms if meals were not required in the restaurant.
Buggies available on demand if required to transport guests around the somewhat hilly site, with friendly drivers.
Free activities included guided walks around the site, talks on coconuts and swimming in a small rock pool and swimming pool.
Lovely walks through the forest down a fairly steep incline to a beautiful deserted beach.
Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble, including Carl, who was an expert on coconuts ( we spent a fascinating hour with him picking, eating and hearing an amazing amount about coconuts.We didn't realise that there was so much to know about them!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

First the good news : it's in a lovely setting and has been carefully planned to be as unobtrusive as possible; the whole concept of staying in wooden cabins scattered around a well forested, fairly isolated promontory has appeal, and the food was plentiful and imaginative.
Less appealing however : the place needs a deal of resource to keep it in pristine order and it's presently looking a tad worn and unkept; with the beaches understandably left wild it needs a much bigger and better swimming pool area; and I would describe the service as friendly rather than efficient ( for example, it took several attempts to get a debit card service charge annulled ).
Lastly - and this is a plus or minus depending on what is being sought - you are captive without wheels.

Room Tip: Stay close to the main block if you don't want too many uphill walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala1, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts - we are pleased you enjoyed Thala’s location and seclusion and had a great dining experience in Osprey’s Restaurant.

Per the majority of other reviews, the level of service at Thala is normally described as exemplary – I do apologize that you experienced an unfortunate response time in regards to the finance matter, please trust that I will investigate this further.

Best wishes
Johan Klindt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for just one night in the first week of January 2013. This has to be one of the best resorts I have ever stayed at. It is truly world class! On its own private peninsula with its own beaches and rocky lookouts.

Accommodation in a private bungalow with its own verandah. Bed was comfortable. Agree with other reviews about the dated bathroom but compensated for by being quite large with bath and shower. Totally surrounded by rainforest, very private and very quiet.

We had a picnic basket for dinner on our verandah which was a wonderful experience.

Peacefulness personified - almost a total lack of mechanical noises (no cars, boats, jetskis, sound systems, etc.) just nature! Golf buggies for housekeeping, room service, etc. but almost silent as they are electricity powered.

The lodge itself has tremendous views which you can see from all of the photos posted on this site. The pools were exceptional with lots of shade and the lack of noisy children was an added bonus. Biggest downside about the whole stay was someone smoking in the pool! Not sure if they were breaking the rules (management care to comment?).

Agree with others that breakfast was a tad expensive but when you consider the stunning view from the restaurant then it was well worth it. Need to also consider free valet parking as further compensation.

If you've ever stayed at the Hyatt Coolum (now the Palmer Resort) on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, then imagine that (without all of the shops and the golf course) perched on top of the cliffs at the National Park at Noosa and you have Thala Lodge!

Already planning a return visit later in the year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala1, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your warming comments - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! I wanted to assure you that most definitely, the person/people smoking in the pool were 'breaking the rules'! We have a designated smoking area that guests are expected to observe - I greatly apologise that your pool-time was tainted due to the actions of a fellow guest.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back sometime again in the future!
Best wishes
Johan Klindt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I figured it best to break down the resort and give you positives and needs for improvement / suggestions.....

Overall, the service was fantastic - clearly, this is what makes Thala, plus it beautiful location and layout....

I felt the price we paid direct with Thala was over-priced...I talked to other guests who booked through hotels.com and they had better price....

Check in was simple / valet parking is great....they will pick you up in golf carts and have your car ready anytime.....Thala is quite large, so bring good walking shoes....

Accommodations:
Positive:
- Very nice individual units, bathrooms large, good water pressure, A/C works great
- Clean
- Can get DVD's from front desk at no charge - good selection

Room for improvement:
- Beds are way too hard / should offer some options or covers

Restuarant:
Positives:
- Food is really tasty and their specials offer unique flavors
- Views are fantastic
- Service is GREAT - they work very hard...
- Wine selection and price are very good
- Breakfast brunch is very nice...($6 extra for a cooked breakfast...should just wrap into total price - why nickel and dime.....)

Room for improvement
- Appetizers for the pool area or to snack - are not too appetizing / too complex...
- No burger on the menu....with a pool as wonderful as Thala has...sorry, you need a burger to go with it....
- Very pricy desserts - $19....(and I like my desserts....but this is ridiculous)
- No real pool service....you need to order inside...they don't come out and pick up dishes...

Pool area:
Positives:
- Awesome, 5 layer rock pool - Really a fun place to hang out
- Very clean
- Lots of towels

Room for improvement:
- Limited lounges
- Lounge covers probably should be replaced, looking old

So, overall stay was fantastic....Thala help with booking excursions on the Barrier Reef, answer questions on where to eat in Port Douglas - Rattle and Hum was a great winner - super pizza....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala1, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts - we are thrilled you were delighted with our service, location, check in, buggy service, bungalows, pools and restaurant experience.

Thank you for your bedding feedback, we are currently investigating options as suggested to best cater for all guests. I am disappointed you didn’t enjoy the selection on our All Day Snack Menu and apologise that you didn’t receive the full service normally provided around the pool area - your feedback has been passed on to the relevant managers for actioning.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you at Thala again in the future.

Best wishes
Johan Klindt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a truly beautiful place to stay.
The reception and restaurant areas are just spectacular with beautiful views.

The lodges are set in the rainforest and are very nice - wooden floor boards etc. some have ocean views, ours did not (I assume because we booked the cheapest deal off wotif). The only major complaint would be the air conditioning in the room. It is so old that it is like having a freight train in your room. I could not sleep with it on, even with ear plugs in. Luckily it wasn't unbearably hot with it off for us but I'm sure it could be. This is something they should seriously consider upgrading soon.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is just a truly beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala1, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback – I was delighted to read that you loved your stay with us!

I am sorry to hear that the airconditioning in your room was dreadfully disturbing - please know next time to bring such to our attention whilst onsite so we can rectify for you if possible. We are mid-way through an airconditioning upgrade across the resort and deeply apologise again that you were so inconvenienced by the older system in your room.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes
Johan Klindt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#1 of 45 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach nestled in 145 acres of native forest, family-owned Thala is a deluxe eco and nature resort near Port Douglas. Sitting spectacularly atop a headland with breathtaking vistas, it provides an island-feel holiday from the mainland and is the perfect base to explore the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. Boutique timber bungalows are built high on stilts and nestle in the forest canopy, featuring either ocean or forest views. The views from the restaurant are panoramic across the mountains and coastline. Guests dine among the birds in the surrounding treetops enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly service. Osprey's Restaurant is open to the public 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.Paths meander through rainforests onto private sandy beaches placing guests in an unsurpassed secluded, relaxing environment. Complimentary guided onsite tours include a unique coconut odyssey, stargazing, nature walks and bird watching tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thala Beach Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.