We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Barrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Barrington to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 West Northwest Highway, Barrington, IL 60010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel from Expedia.com it said hotel has jacuzzi tub and it does not. Place was nasty, I barely wanted to shower. No fitted sheet on bed and we were sleeping on the mattress by end of the night. Expedia pics are not really what the place is. Expedia did refund me for the night and I went to another hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    4
    12
See reviews for
3
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I got fooled into paying 4 nights through Hotwire at this hotel. I only stayed the first. My room opened into an alleyway that wasn't lit well enough to feel safe. All the furniture and the carpets are worn out and should have been replaced at least 20 years ago. I think I got 4 hours of sleep while I worried about being broken into while getting woken up by a squeaky door every couple minutes. Stay somewhere else, there are dozens of better hotels within 10 miles, and don't use Hotwire!

Room Tip: Stay on the office side of the hotel if you absolutely have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrington hotels

Jenison, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you like a dirty place with old style tvs, dirty walls and doors, burns in everything and busted up furniture than this is the place for you. WOW do NOT trust the photos. Very Very Loud so don't expect to sleep.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is my first night. Online they advertise 3 nights for the price of 2. Original price is 60 dollars. So for 4 nights take 60 X 3 plus tax. I get there and give my reservation. Desk clerk, an american guy says no reservation. I push it, and then he sees a fax. Turns out online reservations are faxed over. They then have to put it into their computer system. Okay so I figure that is okay. I ask for a quiet room. Guy says he is giving me a room that opens to the outside. He says their are quieter rooms but they cost more because they have been remodeled. Perhaps they should say the special is for the rooms that are not remodeled. Then I go to visit my mom in the rehab. I get back and 1:00 am. Go to my room and hear the air conditioning. Go in and the room is not cool. Air conditioning is going full force but the room is warm. Why. The freaking thing does not work. It must be 50 years old. It is one am. So I go to the desk and ring the door bell. An Indian woman comes. Woke her up. she is nice. I ask for a room where the air conditioning works. She gives me a new room. Turns out it is one of the remodeled rooms. Room has they same type as air conditioning as my other room but there is actually a window air conditioner that works.. Sign on inside says non working air conditioner and says to use the window air conditioner. The remodeled room with the window air conditioner is bascially like a super 8 motel. However, with a super 8 motel I would not have to go through this crap to get a rooom with a working air conditioner. Three more nights to go. We shall see if this review improves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Bed is big (king size), but the room was old and a litlle bit dirty. The staff was ok and the breakfast very regular for a continental one. The problem is that there are no other cheap offers in Barrington...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Traveling for business stayed at this hotel overnight. Got there and they didn't have my reservation....said they had a room for me though....was "2 double" instead of the "KING"
I booked. Room rate was the same?? Room was Below average at best.....bathroom didn't feel clean, towels dingy etc... I was glad i was only staying the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was staying in Barrington for work and this place comes up as the closest and the cheapest, but not by much. Most of the rooms are catwalk style, they have business class rooms that are inside but have an incredible mildewy smell. While sitting on the bedspread I felt like I was being injected with the plague. There are newer, much nicer hotels within a few miles. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Barrington

Address: 405 West Northwest Highway, Barrington, IL 60010
Location: United States > Illinois > Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story building, both interior corridor and exterior corridor rooms. Pet friendly. Lounge on site. Renovated 2011. No pool. FREE parking, HSIA and guest breakfast. Fitness and Business Centers. At intersection of US 14 and IL 59. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrington Days Inn
Days Inn Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Barrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.