We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Own Mug” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Onion Pub & Brewery

The Onion Pub & Brewery
22221 Pepper Road, Lake Barrington, Barrington, IL 60010
(847) 381-7308
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 65 Restaurants in Barrington
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Your Own Mug”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

You can join their beer club and they assign you a mug of your own. The mug is larger than the standard sizes served to non-members, for the same price. The best thing about this restaurant is the outdoor seating area during spring summer and fall. It is gorgeous overlooking a pond and wildlife area.

Very reasonable prices, the place is huge so I've never seen it full. A wonderful beer menu, my kind of place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“My Second and LAST review - What a shame.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We really wanted this place to be a regular stop in our restaurant line up because It's very close. It's beautifully decorated, comfortable up-scale atmosphere with a handsome bar. Ample parking. The problem is, and it is a big problem, they can't find a chef or menu direction that fits with that decor or their outstanding beer selection.

The last time we were at Onion we both agreed we wouldn't return until they got a better chef. We heard that there was, yet again, another chef and new menu. We were hopeful. In our memory this makes chef number 5 or 6! We have gotten used to their mode of operation: New chef = new menu. I tried to view their online menu but the website had been compromised. So we went in blind.

We were looking for dinner, maybe a steak, but definitely to dine. The new menu is just bar food. We actually asked if we were given the lunch menu by mistake. Way too basic. The nicest (only) steak is butt steak for $18. No chops, no ribs. This menu would be appropriate at a nice golf course. We ended up with just appetizers. Meh. Salty Meh.

Next table in - 3 people - ended up with two appetizers after much discussion. Another table - they were excited about the beers but struggled to make any food selection after much discussion. We made note just to see if anyone else had the problems we had with the menu.

Obviously the management realized after all this time that they weren't coming up with the winning formula for dinner profit. They have re-apportioned most of the dining area into private rooms for rental. The servers are in crappy bar T-shirts as uniforms and the only patrons that were outwardly delighted were the beer drinking bar patrons. The main dining room seems to be an afterthought now. It says something that not one item on the menu is a signature dish surviving from menu to menu. After all these years, they are throwing darts and not one of them sticks. Mgmt allows whoever is the chef at the moment to reinvent the whole food concept without oversight.

This restaurant remains incomplete. The decor sets the stage for a wonderful meal and then disappoints. We end up passing salty tidbits instead of enjoying a real meal. What a shame.

While this is only my second formal review, we have visited this restaurant almost yearly since it opened. We have made it a point to try every new menu. Enough is enough. We give up. We won't be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great comfort food and beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great atmosphere, roomy restaurant with lots of seating and fun decor. The food selection is wide and emphasizes a lot on comfort food. I am not a beer person but my husband is and the beer selection is outstanding. Must try the cheese ale soup, delish! Also the portions are large so be prepared to share or bring some home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tasty Rubens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Love the ambience of this place; it's not pretentious, just comfortable and cozy and decorated to look like it's been there forever - food is pretty good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had no idea this place was just down the road. Went for lunch a couple times; Lots of choices on the menu; Nice service--went with an old friend and we had lots to catch up on so we were slow ordering and eating but the staff were great-didn';t rush us or make us feel like we had to get out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Onion Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to The Onion Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Onion Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.