We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Cottage Resort

Save Saved
You added La Casa Cottage Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Cottage Resort
6808 Westside Road | South Fintry, South Fintry, British Columbia V1Z 3R8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 South Fintry B&B and Inns
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just got back from Kelowna, I must say it was breath taking, the resort was absolutely magnificent, excellent weather made it just that much more amazing!
The cottages was setup very well, clean and everything we needed is pretty much in the resort. Walking up and down is quite the workout so i suggest you renting those little golf kart's if you can't take the heat and walk.
This is definitely a place to hang out with good friends and good company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMC6808, Public Relations Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Jonathan,

Thanks for your kind words about our resort. We’re glad to hear you found La Casa to be both beautiful and relaxing, as well as a place to hang out with good friends and good company. We couldn’t agree more! The seclusion of our resort provides a unique opportunity to bond with family and friends without the usual distractions of the busy city life. And the breath taking views of Lake Okanagan along with accommodations in private cottages, definitely contribute to a sense of serenity and calm which can be difficult to find in a bustling city, or in a hotel-style resort.

Golf carts are an excellent suggestion for those with any kind of mobility or health issues, as well as for those who would love to have a simple and convenient way to travel up and down our hillside resort. Though La Casa itself does not supply the golf carts, we do put our guests in touch with a private golf cart rental company; since there are only a few available for rent, they’re a hot commodity, so reserving in advance is strongly recommended.

For those who enjoy hiking, or are looking for a challenging morning run, the 25 minute trek from the top to the bottom of La Casa is a great place to break out the running shoes, and get in shape.

We look forward to seeing you and yours at our resort in the near future. Should you have any further questions or comments, or to book a future reservation, please contact us at: rentals@lacasacottageresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    10
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

la casa resort is a great place to stay with a family. There are pros and cons to staying here.[

Pros: quiet with great views. Nice to have swimmimg pool option in case you don't feel like going to the lake. Nice lake area with aqua park for the kids to play on including kayak and wave board rentals. Lots of stuff for kids including tennis courts and play area. Small store for very basic provisions on site. Cottage we had was new and clean and clo se to the upper swimming pool area

Cons: 40 minute drive to kelowna down a narrow road with lots of twists and turns. Just make sure you pick up groceries before you arrive! If you plan your day it should be fine - we had day trips to summer land, kelowna and penticton.

Overall an enjoyable holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMC6808, Public Relations Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi there,

We’re happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us at La Casa and took full advantage of our many amenities while enjoying a great view. The quiet you appreciated is certainly one of the numerous advantages to staying in our remote, hillside resort.

As you mentioned, the road to La Casa can be a bit daunting, both for our guests, and for those making deliveries to our resort: this can sometimes prove difficult for keeping our store fully stocked with fresh produce and other supplies; therefore, we do recommend La Casa guests purchase a full stock of groceries before arriving.

The good news is, the B.C. government has recently allocated $1 million dollars to the improvement of the Westside Highway; we anticipate our resort becoming more easily accessible in the near future, and couldn’t be more delighted.

We hope we’ll see you again soon at La Casa Cottage Resort, and thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor review. If you have any further questions or comments, or to book your next vacation with us, please do not hesitate to email us at: rentals@lacasacottageresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After travelling down a pretty scary road, we arrived at La Casa Resort on June 11 for an 8 night stay. We had been sent a letter with the code to get in the gate, as well as the code for our cottage and a number to call in case of any problems. We arrived at 7 p.m. to find the office/cantina closed (due to power outage) so proceeded to our cottage. When we entered the code, the door would not open. We called the emergency number a couple times and didn't get an answer so left a message. After calling every number we could find, including the security people (which were nowhere to be seen and did not answer our calls), we finally got a call back from someone who said they would page someone to come and let us in. It was 8:30 p.m. and much frustration later that a very nice young couple came to let us in. Turns out the lock works on batteries and the batteries were dead. The power was still out and there were candles in the unit, but nothing to light them with. The young man got us a flashlight to use. The next morning when we went to "check-in" at the office, that was supposed to be open from 11 - 7 it was not open until about 11:20. Seems the person that was supposed to open it called in sick. Again, the same young couple arrived to run the office and Cantina. The rest of our stay was great. The accommodations were very nice, clean and well stocked (although we did have to go and get mouse traps on about day 3 we saw a mouse in our unit - caught 3 by the time we left). We were disappointed though that the movie theatre wasn't open during out stay (although we had been led to believe it would be), and the beach is rocky and not very nice. We enjoyed the pools and mini-golf and the views are awesome. While we had a good time, we would only recommend this resort to couples wanting a quiet, relaxing time. Due to the steep drop from one site to the next, we would not recommend this resort to anyone with young children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal R, Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Donna,

We do apologize for the problems you experienced with the door code not working for you upon arriving at La Casa. We pride ourselves in offering our guests outstanding customer service and when we hear of instances where we have fallen short in their expectations it is very upsetting. From time to time incidents do happen that are beyond our control such as power outages or batteries which have surpassed their life span.

We do our utmost to be proactive, so instances such as batteries no longer working and therefore the cottage code access not working, do not usually happen. When these or other issues do occur, we always attempt to remedy the situation immediately.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were there to assist you. We are sorry that you did have to experience a delay in reaching them, most likely due to the power outage.

As for the road, we are aware that it does have its challenges. Part of the charm of La Casa is that it provides you with an escape from the hustle and bustle of major cities and large highways. Of course its drawbacks are that you do need to travel slowly. Much to our delight, just this past week, CBC News stated in their broadcast that MLA Christy Clark has committed $1 million in an effort to make the Westside Kelowna Road a safer road to travel! While obviously this won't happen overnight, we do think it is a step in the right direction.

It is essential to La Casa that we provide you with the best possible experience during your stay and we appreciate the feedback you have provided us. We work diligently to provide our patrons with stellar service. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to improve your experiences with us in the future. If you have any additional questions or concerns please feel free to contact us at rentals@lacasacottageresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Fintry hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first visit to La Casa and we stayed 7 nights. It was our first family vacation that did not include tents. The first thing I want to say is that the staff were amazing! Very helpful and friendly and when we had a power outage on our last full day, they did what they could to accommodate us at the Cantina. The cottage was beautiful and very clean. We enjoyed the pool and hot tubs and the friendly people who owned cottages at the resort. Our disappoint was that we could not use the kayaks or the aqua park despite the beautiful weather and lake, as management felt "the conditions were [too] rough". We were told that we might get hypothermia! We tried to explain that we were originally from northwestern Ontario and swim in Lake Superior, and that we would sign a waiver absolving them of any responsibility. Lem, the caretaker, did his best to get access to the kayaks for us but management would not budge. One of the main reasons we chose La Casa was so we could experience the lake, being that we now live in Alberta and miss the water. We were told we could go to Lake Okanagan Resort just a few kilometres down the road to rent them and we were not impressed. We did end up going to Lake Okanagan Resort and rented a boat. They were more than willing to accommodate us in any way possible, including use of a wakeboard at no additional cost and an additional 2 hours for the cost of a 2 hour rental. Amazing how the water must be less rough and warmer just a few kilometres away. In addition, we wanted to rent a golf cart however we were again told that they were not yet available. Perhaps management should state on the website the amenities that are not available until a certain date so we could have made an informed decision. All in all, it was a beautiful resort however, I think the staff are what make it so, rather than management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal R, Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Candace,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff at La Casa, the feedback is very much appreciated. We pride ourselves in ensuring that our facilities are well maintained and that every guest has everything they need to make sure that their vacation is one to remember fondly.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay regarding the kayak rentals. Our foremost concern is for the safety of our guests and if the conditions at the time were too rough then we would have no other choice but to decline the rentals of kayaks. I am sorry to hear that it was disappointing for you as we pride ourselves in offering our guests outstanding customer service and when we hear of instances where we have fallen short in their expectations it is very upsetting.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a property at La Casa in December 2012 for a stay in May 2013. At the time of booking we were told it had a restaurant, shop and cinema as well as swimming pool, tennis courts and other outdoor activities. We didn't want the outdoor activities but felt we would use the restaurant, shop and cinema so went ahead and booked.

There is no doubt that all the properties have stunning views and the site itself is clean and tidy but we were very disappointed when we arrived to find that the restaurant and shop were closed and sectioned off (some dispute with the owners), and the cinema was only available on Fridays as it was early in the season and as we had arrived on a Friday but were not told until the Saturday (and leaving on a Friday) we had no opportunity to use this facility. At no time prior to our arrival did the resort mention any of these issues - they just took the remainder of our rental.

Also, on arrival at the cottage we found that some of the kitchen areas were dirty. There was also no information in the cottage to help us with our stay, ie nearest doctor, hospital, shops (especially as theirs was shut). Nothing to tell us what time the reception opened to sort these things out so we emailed them but received no reply. Then we came home one day to a large folder on the coffee table with all the information we needed - a bit late as this was 4 days into our week's stay.

Unfortunately we wouldn't recommend staying at this place because of the above issues. We did receive a small amount of money back, but no response to our email. The area is beautiful but very much "off the beaten track" - 20-30 mins in either direction before you get to civilization and the road from La Casa is horrendous as it is quite narrow and winding with cliffs one side and a sheer drop the other with no crash barriers. If the weather closes in it cuts you off as it is then too dangerous to drive. If you want a holiday where you have enough groceries and don't want to venture out then you would probably be quite happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal R, Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello,
Please accept our apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay at the La Casa Cottage Resort. It is unfortunate that there was a time delay in finalizing the contract for the restaurant and store. We had truly hoped to have had everything in place before the booking season began.

We do our utmost to be proactive to ensure that guest packages are already in their cottages prior to their arrival, I do apologize that this was not the case for your stay and while I’m not sure what led to this shortcoming in your case, I can assure you that we have addressed this with our staff members and have put steps in place to prevent this from happening in the future. When these or other issues do occur, we always attempt to remedy the situation immediately. All of our staff has been trained to jump into action to respond to our guest’s requests or dilemmas upon hearing of a problem.

We do thank you for your feedback as it is critical in promoting improvement, we hope you will come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

As a teenage girl, I was a little skeptical leaving all my friends back home, however, it was one of the best weeks of my life.
I went up with my best friend and a couple of her family members. It is perfect for all ages. There are activities for kids such as mini golf, playgrounds and swimming. Adults seemed to enjoy their stay and lounged around in the sun all day socializing with other parents.
For me and my friend, it was a great week. I was a little unsure about leaving AGAIN for another week as I was away most of the summer and didn't want to miss out on anything more. The moment we got there we decided to go down to the beach for an evening swim.
(We were close to the beach which made it easy to walk, but we rented a golf cart which made it a lot more convenient)
The lake did not have much sand, but there were patios an chairs over the water.
During our stay we met many other teenagers and had a great time with everyone.
In the evening when all the kids had cleared out, the pools and hot tubs were a great place for all of us to hang out. After that, everyone would go down to the beach until dawn, or place some beer pong at zacalos.
It is the perfect place for anyone looking to relax and have some fun.
5 stars

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Staying at La Casa was a great family vacation. We have 4 small children and it was a very relaxing place to stay.

Reservation staff were very accommodating and gave lots of information The cottages were beautiful and clean with laundry. Resort staff were friendly and helpful, tasty food at restaurant with wonderful service and beautiful view, pool and hot tubs perfect for small children. Pricing was great. Nice community bbq area and mini golf for family. Fun water trampolines and kayaks. Easy check out with miminum cleaning required.

Crazy roads getting there (bring gravol), not a nice sandy beach area for small kids long haul to water (need to drive or rent cart), wi fi and extras available for small fee. No spa or room/maid service.

Overall we had a wonderful sunny vacation. Would return and recommend to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cottage Resort

Address: 6808 Westside Road | South Fintry, South Fintry, British Columbia V1Z 3R8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > South Fintry
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Fintry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west side of Lake Okanagan, 30 minutes north of West Kelowna, British Columbia, offering 60 vacation rental cottages in the La Casa resort. Beautiful new, fully-equipped 2 and 3 bedroom cottages near the lake/marina, around the swimming pool/activities centre, or on the upper ridge with spectacular lake views. Activities include: swimming pool, jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts, mini-golf, beach volleyball, basketball, playground, group BBQ area, kayaks, lake aqua trampolines, marina, trails right behind the resort for hiking, biking, ATV, and nearby horseback riding, golf, and wineries. Perched on the hill, the lake view Events Centre is ideal for weddings or groups up to 120 people. There is also a 132-seat theatre as well as a fitness centre and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your La Casa Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Cottage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.