We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while skiing at Lookout Pass” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wallace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wallace Inn to your Saves list
Wallace Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Front Street, P.O. Box 867, Wallace, ID 83873   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spovegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while skiing at Lookout Pass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Front desk is friendly. Pool and hot tub are great for the kids after long day of skiing. Convenient having restaurant on site but service in the morning can be quite slow sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
46
64
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sprague, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Wallace Inn is a wonderful place to stay. As a tour bus driver I stay in motels more than 50% of a year. Because of that I see good ones and not so good ones. This one is great. All the people who work here are courteous, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you could need except a microwave. The manager, Rick Shaffer made sure that there was easy parking for my tour bus. And, he is a living poster and champion welcome wagon for the town of Wallace. Everyone should plan a visit to Wallace and stay at the Wallace Inn. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Wallace Inn is located in the little town of Wallace in the Panhandle of Northern Idaho. It's the only American downtown listed in its entirety on the National Register of Historic Places and there is plenty to do just browsing through a variety of museums, including the Mining Museum, the Northern Pacific Railroad Museum, and a Bordello Museum! And if that isn't enough, there are adventures right outside the door of your hotel room. We were delighted with the Adventure Package offered by host and manager, "Prime Minister" Rick Shaffer. For two extremely comfortable nights at the hotel plus a day of biking, including trail and shuttle passes for the amazing rails-to-trails Hiawatha Bike Trail, and a day of whitewater rafting through Class III & IV rapids of the Clark Fork River just over the pass in Montana, we paid a very reasonable $369. We planned to spend an additional couple of days riding the Trail of the Coeur d' Alenes and Rick was able to help us with transportation as we biked segments of the trail. Great down home cooking in Wallace at the 1313 Club, the Red Light Garage, or the Brooks Hotel to name just a few. The 6th Street Theater offers wonderful melodramas in the summer. We were fortunate to catch: "Run to the Roundhouse Nellie, He Can't Corner You There!" If you're planning a trip through northern Idaho, stop and stay a while. There's a lot to do in and around Wallace, and you'll be most welcome at the Wallace Inn!
P.S. The room was clean, comfortable, roomy, and the hotel reception staff were all so friendly that we felt right at home! We're hoping to bring our friends here next summer. They're going to be amazed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Upon arrival we were welcomed at the door with our room keys and directions to get there. The lobby was very nicely decorated with cozy seating area and a nice fireplace to enjoy in the winter. Our rooms were neat and very clean. The linens were clean and crisp, the towels were very soft and plenty of them. The bathroom was very spacious with ample room for my cosmetics and other toiletries. The beds were very comfy and the drapes were heavy enough to keep early morning light out so sleeping in a little later was no problem at all. The coffeemaker was very much appreciated so we didn't have to leave our room to get that much needed eye opener in the mornings. We were very happy with our stay and will be looking forward to staying there again next time we visit beautiful Wallace, Idaho.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Wallace Inn was a great surprise on a road trip to Washington. This is a very nice hotel with great customer service and with a full restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We came to explore northern Idaho on a bicycle. We had lots of recommendations and direction. The hotel has been beautifully renovated, was exceptionally clean and all the the staff was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Also, the pride of their lovely city was evident in all their information. Rick Shaffer from the Wallace Inn (the 'Prime Minister') went above and beyond to make sure our trip was one to remember. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I loved staying at the Wallace Hotel when I rode the Trail of the Haiwatha. They are really nice there, the hotel was clean and quiet and everything you need is right there. They let you store your bike inside and there are nice places to eat in the town. I felt completely safe the entire time so I recommend it to anyone. Plus, riding the trail is an amazing adventure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wallace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Inn

Address: 100 Front Street, P.O. Box 867, Wallace, ID 83873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wallace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of North Idaho's breathtaking Silver Valley, at the foot of the towering Bitterroot Mountains, the newly renovated Wallace Inn offers a unique experience for visitors. Come explore all the natural beauty, history, and year-round recreation that abound in the area. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, friendly, personalized service, and an array of amenities await your arrival. Stay with us and enjoy our indoor pool and spa, steam room, dry sauna, exercise facilities, restaurant, lounge, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wallace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Hotel Wallace
Wallace Inn Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.