We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SmokeHouse BBQ & Saloon, Historic

SmokeHouse BBQ & Saloon, Historic
424 Sixth Street, Wallace, ID
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 restaurants in Wallace
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

They served me a RAW hamburger, the server was rude and not interested in assisting us (busy talking with coworkers all with their backs to us) and the cooks looked no older than 12 or 13. It was an upsetting experience in such a great little town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill W, Owner at SmokeHouse BBQ & Saloon, Historic, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
World Famous BBQ, Award Winning BBQ, celebating our 9th year. 900 lbs of bbq cooked weekly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    19
    16
    7
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnation, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We all had the pulled chicken BBQ sandwich. There was nothing about it that tasted like BBQ. It was just chicken on a bun that must have sat in water. The bun was saturated and mush. I had to put BBQ sauce on the chicken to make it taste like BBQ and use a fork since my bun was inedible. The side dishes were also poor. We asked our server to bring us eating utensils which never came, so I walked inside to get them myself. There was no one in the restaurant and our server was no where to be found. Be aware this is a cash only establishment. I will say it is a beautiful location. We sat outside on a sunny day and really enjoyed the views.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“it was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

it was OK but not Great. we had lunch and we both had the sampler.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Montana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Restaurant Impossible needs to visit here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

There aren't many restaurants in the area, and we wanted to avoid a big crowd at another restaurant (to expedite our meal) and so we wound up here. A nice waitress encouraged us to sit outside, which we did until the smoking started out there. We then went inside where we noticed the disarray and unsanitary practices behind the bar. We waited a VERY long time (40 min) for our food, a sockeye salmon, and a mixed smoked meats plate. The waitress said they were "slammed" although the restaurant was empty, and most outdoor patrons were just having drinks. When the food finally arrived in plastic trays with paper liner, it was abysmal. The salmon was dry and over seasoned; the rice beneath it was mushy and had a stray sausage from some other meal in it. The "sides" were a chunky coleslaw plopped onto the paper liner (not good) and some baked bean (probably canned). Sadly, the baked beans were the best part. My husband had smoked ribs and pulled pork. The smoke was harsh and bitter, not any hint of sweetness. And the ribs were dry. We told the waitress of the poor food, but simply got a sympathetic "I'm sorry." We then paid the too high price, and left, vowing never to return again. Also, they didn't take credit or debit cards, but were willing to take an out-of-state check, so long as it had a phone number. That wasn't obvious until we came into the bar/restaurant area; there, the handwritten signs were taped everywhere. Wallace is a beautiful little town, in need of better restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great BBQ place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We all had different menu items and everyone was pleased with their meal. Nice microbrews on tap. I asked to substitute a ciabatta roll for Montana Wheat bread and got a plain white bun - disappointing but okay because I should be eating less bread. We ate outside - it is on a corner (The Center of the Universe) so can observe local and tourist color. We went back for a nitecap and everyhting was closed up by 10 pm on a weeknight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SmokeHouse BBQ & Saloon, Historic also viewed

 

Been to SmokeHouse BBQ & Saloon, Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SmokeHouse BBQ & Saloon, Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.