We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place with very average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Light Garage

Red Light Garage
302 5th St., Wallace, ID
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 restaurants in Wallace
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute place with very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

After reading trip advisor we really wanted to try it out. The salad was terrible and the sandwich was very average. If you only have one meal in Wallace there are other places you should try first. I am wondering if breakfast might be a better idea!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    26
    27
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Driving by I wasn't drawn to the place but upon entering was pleasantly surprised by the fun eclectic collection of random items for sale (antique license plates,lamps,deco...) Kept the kids entertained. The people were soooo sweet. And the food was much better than I expected...nothing gourmet, but simple,
something for everyone dishes. spent about $7 per person. We liked dinner so much that we went back for breakfast! Great place for a family meal. Kids loved it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“A great place to grab a bite to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family and I ate here for dinner one night while staying over in Wallace. We really enjoyed our meals and loved the atmosphere. The place isn't very big - only around 7 tables inside, but it's a great place to grab a bite to eat. We'd certainly return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“decent cuppa Java & memorabilia to boot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

cafe didn't knock our socks off, but decent. Tucker a tad greasy but not bad either. Liked the memorabilia; old licence plates & a great ol' Nash Rambler parked out front etc

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hamburgers and shakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came in for a quick bite after a long day of driving. What a pleasant surprise. We had great hamburgers -- jalapeños and pepper jack on a juicy beef patty. The huckleberry milk shake was wonderful. I had to restrain myself from ordering a second one. It turns out that the owner also runs a small hotel. If only we had known before checking into our room at a nearby conference center! I bet their place has a lot more charm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Light Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Light Garage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.