We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Hole BBQ

Big Hole BBQ
22 W. Center Street, Victor, ID
208-270-9919
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Victor
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Description: We have recently moved from Driggs to Victor, Idaho and are a small, family run bbq restaurant.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

really good BBQ in the heart of Victor. Great service... when not too crowded. Family friendly and a great roof-top deck!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go early..They sell out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is not meant for large groups. We had a party of 9 and got there about 5:30 for dinner.. The waitress said brisket is all gone we sold out at lunch.. We tried the fish tacos, pulled pork, ribs, prime rib sandwich, pasta salad, cole slaw, beans, mac & cheese. It took a while for our order to come out(30+ minutes) but it was worth the wait..My nephew had raved about their pulled pork..it was good but the ribs were better but the best was the smoked prime rib sandwich and the cole slaw.
Good thing we went a bit early.. When we left the sign said " sold out of everything"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driggs, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“I love to roof deck! Food is great, even if you don't like bbq!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is not your typical BBQ place. The food is awesome and the ambience is over the top now that they have a brand new deck. It was my 2nd trip to Big Hole BBQ. When I asked my husband to meet me for lunch in a rare day when he didn't have to work in Jackson.
I had been there one week previously after a gym work out. The food was excellent and the beer was cold.
It was hot, but we loved our food. I sat on the deck. My only complaint was that one waitress worked her butt off but it wasn't ours lol. She finally helped us get our bill and water.
When we asked our waitress (on the deck) if we could have water she laughed and nodded towards a nearby server table where we should have (shame on us) known this was available. The same attitude came up when we asked for silverware. Gosh. Sorry - we were off to get It on our own. We also left, leaving our check w/ 15% tip (shame on me but I would feel bad leaving anything less) on the deck for her to get back.
This would have been 5 stars but on a slow hot day, sorry you opened the deck, but if your 17 yo waitress is not up to task, perhaps rethink your staff.
Your food is excellent. We love it. Thank you - just don't come here if you are in a hurry because you might get the wrong server.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigHolebbq T, Owner at Big Hole BBQ, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi! Thank you for your awesome review, we take everyone's opinion very seriously. We have already made changes to our server crew in hopes of making sure everyone is taken care of. Some people just take advantage of their position and lose sight of their job, We at Big Hole BBQ apologize for any inconvenience you may have incurred. We look forward to serving you excellent food in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Approved by Southerners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very worried trying out BBQ here especially since most people call just cooking out or grilling burgers as a BBQ. Pulled pork and Brisket are super, great chunks of meat not full of fat. the slaw is fresh and very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived about 7:00pm, & seated immediately. Order was taken quickly but took 45 minutes, and not advised there would be a delay. Had we been told, we might have ordered & returned 30 minutes later. The wait was well worth it. We shared a combo plate. The menu did say there would be a $2 charge for an extra plate, we intended to ask only for an extra fork. Our server brought the extra plate & did not charge us. They were compensating for our long wait which was a nice gesture. The two servers were very pleasant and constantly moving. The ribs and pulled pork were probably the most tender ever having had. The cold slaw was great. Fresh and crispy. The beans were a bit on the spicy side but tasty. In all fairness,it was a Fri night there was an event in town along with lots of takeout orders. Will definitely go again, when in town. Eating area on the small side, would not recommend for a large group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Hole BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Hole BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Hole BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.