We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creative dishes and fresh local source” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spoons Bistro

Spoons Bistro
32 W Birch Street, Victor, ID 83455-5109
208.787.2478
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Victor
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“creative dishes and fresh local source”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

small but creative menu here. often some asian inspired items along with meat and a fish/seafood selection. taste is always great but portions are small and prices high. wine by the glass is really high - so BYO!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvictor, Owner at Spoons Bistro, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and constructive review. We gotten a lot of feedback on our portion size and menu pricing. We have taken these comments very seriously and reworked our menu we will continue to serve delicious food for less. We do serve a few expensive wines by the glass but we also serve a house red and white for $5/ glass. Unfortunately Idaho state law prohibits BYO so I will begin my search for some more value conscious wines. You have given us some great feedback and I hope that on your next visit you are pleasantly surprised by our updated menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Meal in Victor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My son and I were fishing the South Fork and had our second meal at Spoons! Enjoyed last year so made sure to make a follow-up visit! Excellent food! Tunis tartar; escargot and Idaho Trout over vegetables! YUM! We were surprised to find EXCELLENT escargot in Victor! Spoke with chef and congratulated him on excellent food in small Idaho town!! DON'T MISS SPOONS BISTRO!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvictor, Owner at Spoons Bistro, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for coming back and seeing us again. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed that evenings special. We hope to see you again next year, or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great fresh, local fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First time in Idaho and friends took us to a local outdoor music festival on the green in Victor - then across the street to Spoons for a great meal. We shared the spicy tuna tartare - very good. I had the seared Idaho trout which was excellent. Others had fish & chips and fried oysters - both very good. Good variety of wines to choose from. Had the Three Saints Pinot Noir which was outstanding. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvictor, Owner at Spoons Bistro, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Spoons. We love Music on Main too and we are so fortunate to have such amazing artist visit our community. Thanks for coming in after and we hope to see you back again.
Nicole and Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect al fresco dining on the back patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed a tasty Idaho trout dish, on a bed of local veggies, and chipotle black bean burger. The service was good and unpretentious. Unexpected quality for quiet country.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvictor, Owner at Spoons Bistro, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very proud of our deck; Travis personally gathered all the sticks that make up the surround. Teton Valley has a short summer season and we like to be outside as much as possible before the snow flies, I am pleased you enjoyed it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outrageous Prices. Unreal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tiny portions passing itself off as nouvelle cuisine. The taste is ok, not more. Prices outrageous. I had to order very, very carefully to get out for $48!!! My companion spent over $85 on dinner and two glasses of $14 wine per glass. I have lived in France and on the East coast of the Us, and am used to fine dining. This is simply pretentious and overpriced. AVOID at all COST, and trust me, the cost is horrendous. Upon seeing the prices I would have simply left but I was with a business person, and he had driven, so I didn't feel comfortable doing that. Regretted it, and still do. Stay well away unless money is absolutely no object to the point where you like being cheated. Will say that the bathroom decor is outstanding. Seriously.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvictor, Owner at Spoons Bistro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I wish that your experience at Spoons had been different we want our guests to have more than just a rushed meal and a paper napkin; we want our guest to relax, visit with friends and dine. We have worked very hard to create a comfortable space, where people feel at home no matter what their budget.
Teton Valley is a very expensive place to live and run a business. We have priced our menu to reflect our high costs… planning our menu to accommodate many tastes and budgets. We do have a wine by the glass for $14 but we also have one for $5. One can easily rack up a high bill with expensive wines and multiple courses; however you can also come in and have a meal and a glass of wine for just over $20.
Our portion sizes are meant to be filling but not so huge that people leave feeling uncomfortable or find that they are hauling away giant doggie bag. We do attempt to present out meals in a consistent composed fashion using fresh techniques and adding something special to each dish. Careful plating is not because to be pretentious, it is done because we believe that you eat with your eyes first.
Thank you for giving us a try and your feedback I wish it had been a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoons Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Spoons Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoons Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.