We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2011 God's creation at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoshone Falls

Shoshone Falls
Twin Falls, ID 83301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Twin Falls
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“October 2011 God's creation at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The west's version of Niagara Falls, this falls is an AWESOME awe-inspiring place to go. We had to go in October when there was an early snow cuz that's when we were visiting the state. Decent tourist items like postcards and smashed pennies were available even in the off-season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    91
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Stunning and Powerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The force and size of the Shoshone Falls was incredible. It was so beautiful. The waterdall is 212 feet high!! We were there in the winter so we had to be very careful as it was icy and slippery, but we were also the only people there and got amazing pictures. I made my now-husband go on a long detour to view the waterfalls, and we both were happy we went on the detour.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho, United States
1 review
“Shoshone Falls in the Snake River Canyon near the city of Twin Falls, Idaho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It geat in the spring when there is water, but still worth with minimum flow. The great huge monolithic --probably basalt rock is impressive enough. There are local stories of indians a century or so ago jumping off into the pool of water below--maybe they survived.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Viewing During Rainy Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Shoshone Falls in full flow is a 200+ Foot Spectacular display and well worth the parking ticket. Unfortunately this part of the Snake River provides irrigation to farmers and the city of Twin Falls. As a result, the level of water gushing over Shoshone Falls during the dry months is disappointing for viewers/tourists.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

So pleased we did not miss this ,there was not a lot of water but still worth the visit .We went late in the day and the sun going down really lit the scene. Lots of info around the site ,really informative would love to return when the falls are really flowing

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoshone Falls also viewed

 

Been to Shoshone Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoshone Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shoshone Falls to your Saves list