We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local comfort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Depot Grill

Depot Grill
545 Shoshone Street South, Twin Falls, ID 83303
208.733.0710.
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 118 Restaurants in Twin Falls
Restaurant details
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Local comfort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The place has been criticized for being "old" and "worn out". I would suggest that it is "Seasoned" and "Comfortable". This place does show wear and tear, but the food is great, the portions are generous, the prices are thrifty, and the smiles are a plenty. We had good service and a very friendly waitress. Obviously a "locals" favorite and not the usual chain or tourist destination. I can assure anyone that when I get back to Twin Falls, I will eat here again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rupert, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This has been around since my mommy was born! Every time we were in Twin Falls, this is the place we'd stop to eat. Mom knew it was good food because she used to be a waitress for several years at some good ol' mom-n-pop cafes. Sure, it's a bit old and can even get crowded during the rush hours, but hey - that means everyone thinks the food is good. And they're right!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a disturbing place to eat on Tuesday night. We had the "all you can eat chicken", at least they said it was chicken. They must cut up the chicken into about 25 pieces and then they just toss it in front of you. Nasty. The potatoes had some sort of greenish yellow gravy and the rolls were old. Our soda tasted like it was moldy. They stick you in the "back room" to eat and the company was scary back there. Anybody that says this place is good needs to have their head examined.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Down home cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had the buffet 6.95 all you can eat! It was great! Real mashed potatoes lots of salad choices many choices to choose from!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK...but wouldn't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Service was friendly and attentive, and that's about where the positives end. A local recommended we eat here, which is usually a recommendation one can trust, but his family or friends must own the place. It was not exactly clean, but it does have kind of a neat old diner atmosphere to it. Food was ho-hum; not all that good, not all that bad. It was disappointing, though, as we were expecting something better because of the recommendation. Would not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Grill also viewed

 
Twin Falls, ID
 

Been to Depot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Depot Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.