We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable, cohesive , and the most eager to please hosts one could ask for .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swan Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge
Save
You added Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge to your Saves list
40 Conant Valley Loop, Swan Valley, ID 83449 (Formerly South Fork Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Remarkable, cohesive , and the most eager to please hosts one could ask for .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Natural Retreats lodge on the Snake River is a well run organization . We could not have been more pleased or better cared for .
I have fished the Snake many times on my own. Camping and drifting for days on a spectacular river . Many times passing the lodge, and thinking " one day " I will get a chance to experience what Natural Retreats has to offer . That day came, last Aug I had the chance to treat my 84 yr old dad to a fantastic stay at the lodge on the Snake River . Three days that will never be forgotten , a rare chance for one more father son fishing experience .
The management team, and all the employees at the lodge are the most hard working , pleasant folks we have ever stayed with . The lodge is outstanding , clean , spacious , and very welcoming .
The guides and fly shop crew are top notch professionals . Very professional , proud and knowledgeable . Gear and boats were fantastic .
Dad and I also took advantage of the river camp, for an over night . To finish a long day on the river with a first class meal , great company , and a comfortable camp , well , it really doesn't get any better than this .
Ed Voskowsky Granby Ct

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have attempted to visit the restaurant at South Fork for our Anniversary every year since I learned it existed - it has never disappointed. We were delighted to learn that they were now open year round. The view, the atmosphere, the service - everything was fabulous; they treated us like royalty. The dinner offerings are always unique and delicious. This year we returned with our daughter and her husband (who live in Seattle) for her 30th Birthday. They loved it.
Worth the drive.
One last note I must add - a few years back, I called to see if they were open for dinner yet (...they were seasonal back then); they said yes and I made a reservation. There were a couple of other tables occupied - not a lot - we found out later that they really hadn't opened for the season but were hosting a dinner for all their staff - but included us just the same because they remembered us.
Nothing else like it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

(I'm only reviewing the restaurant, as we did not stay here)
When travelling through the area a year ago, tired of truck stop food, the South Fork lodge came highly recommended. We stopped and could tell that This Was The Place --- only to find that a private party had rented out the entire facility for the weekend and so the restaurant was not open.

Fast forward a year later when traveling the area again --- we came without reservations on a busy night, but they fit us in. A gorgeous setting overlooking this ridiculously scenic river. We sat in a lovely high-ceilinged dining room.

Overall, they strike that difficult balance of being fine dining but in a outdoor-oriented casual setting. Service was excellent, friendly, attentive. Menu was upscale but did not overreach. My lamb was excellent. My wife's salad with trout was similarly good.

Highly recommended, and I have to imagine the lodging is excellent as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was lucky enought to stay here and definitely recommend it as a high end choice. No roughing it here, that's for sure. It is right on the Snake River approx 45 min from Idaho Falls airport, and even though the road is fairly close behind you, it was still very peaceful. Our room was very spacious as it was in one of the houses that contains several units. It had a wood fireplace and a nice balcony with great view. The food was amazing as the chef was very creative each evening. Each night we enjoyed sitting outside around the fireplace on the main deck or at the fire pit by the river.

We fished for 3 days and each day got to see a different part of the river. The scenery is beautiful and going down the river in a drift boat is a wonderful way to see it. The guides were excellent and even though it was our first time Fly fishing we got a lot of fish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Had a fantastic stay at the South Fork Lodge. The lodge and rooms are gorgeous! The lodge staff could not have been nicer - they are genuinely happy, lovely people and it certainly shows in the level of service provided. The food is amazing. I think we all gained a few pounds on our trip because we could not stop eating the delicious meals. We really enjoyed the trip down the Snake River. Learning to fly fish was so much fun and the guides are all just wonderful. They are so knowledgeable about the area and it was nice to do some learning about the river and surrounding areas.

This is a wonderful way to experience the beauty of the area without roughing it, and I would recommend this trip to anyone (men or women).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We live in Idaho Falls and frequently go to the South Fork Lodge. It is an incredible place, from the rooms, to the food, to the service. Everything is first class and is never a disappoimentment. This is not a place with a lot surrounding it and a lot to do. But it is so peaceful and beautiful. You can just sit out by the river, with a fire, and have glass a wine and stare at the stars all night. My husband is an avid flyfisherman and this fishing is some of the best in the area. The lodge has many good guides.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

South Fork Lodge Swan Valley Idaho satisfied our September outdoor adventure in paradise. The Lodge is everything a luxury mountain lodge can possibly offer and more. Just before sundown we spent each evening on the outdoor patio overlooking the enchanting Snake River winding from here to there sipping on our drink of choice and yummy appetizers. Our entertainment: Mama Moose and baby grazing in a nearby meadow, flyfishermen and some women floating down and casting enthusiastically for hungry trout waiting under a submersed snag or grass overhang, eagles swooping down, catching and munching on Cutthroat trout.
Our room was quiet and comfortable, our guides were attentive and knowlegable (Dirk and Sue) and the food including lunches were amazingly delicious. Uplifted by the entire experience. Thank you Bob and staff!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge

Address: 40 Conant Valley Loop, Swan Valley, ID 83449 (Formerly South Fork Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Swan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Swan Valley
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning wilderness location, and the finest dry fly fishing waters in the USANatural Retreats South Fork Lodge rests on a dramatic bend of eastern Idaho's world-famous South Fork of the Snake River in scenic Swan Valley. This stunning wilderness location offers a perfect blend of rustic elegance, outstanding activities and exceptional hospitality. The unique setting, first–class amenities, and Natural Retreats' dedication to customer service all combine to provide a truly memorable experience for guests. Whether relaxing at the lodge, taking advantage of a guided activity through The Outfitters, enjoying a Starbucks coffee at the Storehouse, or sitting down to dinner at The Riverside Bar And Grill, The South Fork Lodge will exceed your expectations. The 65 miles of the South Fork of the Snake River is known by many as one of the best tailwater and dry fly fisheries in the US, and The Outfitters offers unparalleled unique guided fishing on these waters. Natural Retreats Concierge service is happy to arrange horseback riding, rafting, hiking, and kayaking for all guests who want to explore these adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge Swan Valley, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.