We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Not Lost It's Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Valley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Sun Valley Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353   |  
Hotel amenities
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Has Not Lost It's Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Since retiring we have spent hundreds of nights in hotels from budget lodgings to five star resorts, but our favorite place on earth is still the Sun Valley Lodge. There is simply no place that is more perfect. It is a magnificent and historic property nestled in magnificent mountains with carefully landscaped and spacious grounds. The hotel has the feeling of "old money". It is exceptionally luxurious without being showy or trendy. One feels the substantial weight of history while still enjoying every modern convenience.

From the ironed linen and down comforters, to the heavy towels and crystal drinking glasses, to the tasteful arrangement of every element in the room this property is designed to sooth the soul.

There is nothing that I do not love about this fantastic property. I love the decor. I love the furniture. I love the massive and welcoming lobby. I love the uniformed and professional hotel staff, and the occasionally charming European accent. I love the amazing floral displays in the lobby.

I love the rooms with deep carpets, marble bathrooms, endless hot water, magnificent decor, turn-down service with yummy chocolates. There is simply nothing more this hotel can do to please a guest.

I also indulge in room service, which is always swift, hot and delicious. The hotel restaurants are so good that we often dine in them even if we are not able to get rooms in the Lodge. Sunday brunch is the best of its kind in the US and Europe. Not only can you gaze at celebrities while enjoying your mimosa, but the hand-made omelets and delicious crepes meet traditional breakfast needs while smoked salmon and exotic concoctions appeal to the adventurous appetite.

The property supplies every amenity any guest would wish from spa services, ski lift tickets, magnificent heated swimming pools with pool side service, even in the snow. Tennis courts, ice skating rink, bike paths, hiking and walking trails....one need never be bored here.

Finally the property would not be the same were it not for the exceptionally professional nature of the staff. From desk clerk to waiter to bell boy to maid, every single person appears professional and greets each guest with a genuine and sincere welcome. Over the years I have had some unusual requests, and they have never failed to satisfy them.

Sun Valley Lodge - my favorite place on earth. It does not get better than this!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    48
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
69
3
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed in one bedroom room in a condominium area at Sun Valley Lodge. When we asked for ice for our room (meant for glasses of water) we got a trash bag full of ice. When we tried to order room service, we were told we could order on phone and come to lodge to pick up. Asked for extra towels several times before we got them. Room was adequate, but not large. Bathroom was very large. If I stayed here again, I would never stay anywhere but main lodge. Everything inside the lodge was very nice and there were many activities on the property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The lodge has a lot of amenities but the walls are paper thin - we could hear coughing, flushing of toilets and a loud tv during the night. The door let in the bright hallway light at all times. The staff is friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the Sunday brunch. It must have been grand in the 1940s.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have stayed at the Lodge or Inn multiple times over the years. Sadly, the experience has deteriorated. The area still has the old elegant cache and it is a delight to wander the halls looking at old pictures. The staff is numerous, friendly and helpful, but the accomodations are lacking. On the first night we were situated over a bar and awoken to the sound of loud drum music at midnight. First call to the desk we were routed to a night watchman. Second call received sympathy, but no solution. We moved the second day to a room where the t.v. did not work and finally to a third room. The doors do not fit, thus letting lots of light and noise from the hallway. Bed linens are comfy. Carpets old and worn. The golf course has a beautiful clubhouse, but the course maintenance needs some work. I would suggest cheaper and newer places to stay and just visit the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Wonderful location, accomodations, amenities and opportunities. The Sun Valley Resort is beautifully situated and offers great activities for the family. There are numerous opportunities on site - three pools; bowling alley; ice skating rink; movie theatere; candy store (the boys favorite); tennis courts and a short walk to one of the best outdoor symphonic venues for a series of free summer performances.

Off property, there are plenty of additional outdoor opportunities. Fishing, numerous bike trails, golf and even trap shooting. There are oher lodgig options in the valley
but the Sun Valley Lodge (especially when you book early) is very competitive and even beats the pricing at other properties.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I bought a package to see Garth Brooks in concert with the Sun Valley Symphony Orchestra. We had never been to Sun Valley/Ketchum. The lodge is beautiful..they have remodeled but many of the original pictures, flooring, and beautiful marble were retained/ They have an outside ice skating rink practically adjacent to the swimming pool. It really is like a self contained little city. We ate dinner at Gretchen's..I had Idaho Trout, my husband had steak. Both were awesome. Service was great. The concert was great. We had a small glitch but when I spoke to management they were on top of it in a heartbeat. I would recommend the Gondola ride to the Roundhouse as well. You really must plan on spending several days to see and do all there is to do. Hats off to a very professional staff that attends to every detail. OH..and the vegetable frittata at Gretchen's for breakfast is a vegetarian's dream!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

While older, the Sun Valley Lodge had elegantly furished common areas, lobby, and rooms. We did want an upper floor but, while the upgraded us to a larger room it was on the first floor and had no view.

I loved the grounds surrounding this hotel. Lush landscaping in the summertime, with a lake that had swans! Also next to the Sun Valley Inn, and the area has some nice shopping boutiques, an outdoor ice rink, and a covered ampitheatre with weekend performers.

The food served at the lodge restaurant was above average. My wife and I thought their quesadilla at lunchtime was the best either of us had ever had!

Golf nearby at the Trail Creek course was a challenge and beautiful. Be sure to also check out Ketchum a couple miles away. Good spots for dining and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Lodge

Address: 1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sun Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Lodge Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.