We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent conferencing faclility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Valley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Sun Valley Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Global
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent conferencing faclility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Visited the Lodge for a conference, excellent layout. Conference rooms are well appointed. The Lodge is attached and easy to get to.
Negatives:
Parking needs to e better organized, very easy to lock your car in so that you cannot leave.
Could use a sheltered path between conference facility and Opera.
could have been for us, but I felt there was not much choice of meals, or snacks in the conference.
Still, I would recommend this place

Room Tip: Not close to town, worth having your own car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    48
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
70
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater Fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loved Sun Valley !!! And the great little town of Ketchum Id. is one of our favorites. When we checked in to Sun Valley Lodge we were asked if we would like a free "upgrade". Of course we would! We were given a BEAUTIFUL condo that had vaulted ceilings, fireplace, granite counters and sub-zero appliances. Someones winter retreat that we enjoyed in July. There is a great little bar in the lodge that looks out on the ice skaters and beautiful grounds. The staff was very professional and attentive. All in all a great stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We bought a 3 night lodge/ski package and were very impressed! The Sun Valley Lodge was perfect. The room was more than comfortable and we loved the "hot" swimming pool. It was great for our tired legs after skiing each day. The shuttle to go skiing was convenient and easy to get around. We got free movie tickets at the village for eating at one of their restaurants. What a nice treat. We've been to a lot of ski resorts but this was one of our favorites. It's easy to fly into Boise, rent a car ( which was cheap) and drive to Sun Valley. Very scenic and pleasant drive. Sun Valley Lodge is a wonderful place to be "pampered".

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Five girlfriends booked a 3 night stay in a 4 bedroom/5 bed condo through Sun Valley Lodge. Another friend annually stays a week at the Lodge and highly recommended their mid-week lodging and ski package. We were looking forward to 2 days on the slopes.

We requested 5 beds for our lodging and were told they couldn't guarantee that request, but would try. We were thrilled when we arrived, after 9.5 hours driving in the car, to learn that we'd been upgraded to a "cottage." You cannot even imagine how stunned we were when we discovered that the cottage was instead a large home with 5 bedrooms, and that it could sleep 14 people!!!!! We didn't need to use the resort's hot pools because we had our own hot tub at the house. We had a sun room with an amazing view of Diamond Mountain and Sun Valley Lake. The house was older, but had beautiful architectural elements from its era. This experience was beyond our wildest dreams. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: If you are a skiier looking for a ride to River Run Lodge, ask to be located near the main bus circl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is hard to write a review of Sun Valley Lodge (not Inn or condos) and is in isolation from the rest of the charm of the town itself, but I will try. Also, we have only been there in the winter, so my comments are relative to that time of year.

We go to Sun Valley to ski and relax. We have not taken the kids yet, it's just been us as a couple.

Your experience begins at the airport. They pick you up - it's a free shuttle for the lodge which is a $40 savings each way. You arrive at the lodge and you head right in to check in. Bags are organized for you then they bring them to your room, no fingers lifted.

Rooms vary widely and you should ask for specifics about your room if you decide to get a basic room versus deluxe. We've had both and some rooms are a little small.

None of the rooms that I have stayed in personally have super modern bathrooms or are super spacious. From that standpoint it's a little bit on the "charming" side. But everything works perfectly. The rooms come with DVD players and a mini fridge.

I prefer the second floor personally. You are off the first floor but you can also take the stairs if you don't want to wait for the elevator.

Pool time - for me, skiing is not complete without a proper hot tub. The Sun Valley Lodge hot tub is a boiling hot swimming pool with a bar tender. Oh yah. We love the hot tub. You go down in a robe, they give you a towel and a cocktail and you just jump in.

There is a bar in the lobby that always seems to have some kind of live entertainment, usually music (good music) but this time there was also a comedian one night. Always a good time.

The town bus is a 90 second walk from the front door. It leaves every :15 minutes in the morning and afternoon and about every half hour during less peak times. I took the bus into town and got a few groceries for our fridge and it was a cinch.

If you stay at the lodge you have free ski storage on the mountain. So you bring your skis to the mountain on day one and you're done carrying them for the rest of the trip.

If you go out at night, they have a van and driver that will take you into town and pick you up, just a call away. We tip $5 each ride.

There's just nothing not to love about the lodge.

Room Tip: Second floor - off the main floor but you can use the stairs since the elevator is a little slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the historic Sun Valley Lodge. From the moment we got to the hotel to leaving, we had a great time! The Bell Staff at the Front Door assisted us with our luggage and showed us where we could store our skis for the first night. (The other nights we stored our skis at the River Run Lodge Ski Storage which was complimentary with our SV Resort Fee which also included transportation every 15 minutes from the SVL to the Sun Valley Ski Area.). The lobby is beautiful with an enormous arrangement of flowers near the fire place.

Our room was on the 2nd floor. There is a large lounge right off the elevator on the 2nd Floor with views over the ice rink. The fireplaces at each end of the room were great. The room had a great view of the Ice Rink as well as Dollar Mountain. We did have maintenance take a look at the door latch which was loose. Also, as this is a historic building the shower head was at a lower level. Water pressure was also somewhat low. The room has it's own thermostat, but for some reason the heat seems to turn off during the night so I woke up very cool. It was never bothersome enough to complain. The Closet had plenty of space to hang our things as well as two large dressers in the room. One of the cabinets also housed a small fridge as well as Coffee Maker and a small safe to lock up our iPad and phones. There is a flat screen TV on the wall but I think we barely turned it on because there is so much to do. We are allergic to feather bedding so the housekeeping staff cheerfully switched out to Non Feather Pillows and Comforter.

The Duchin Room was fun for a glass of champagne but does get very busy in the afternoon and evenings. The Live Entertainment in the Duchin Room was really good. The Gretchen Dining is very nice on the inside with lots of pictures of Gretchen Fraser (who was the first American woman to win a Gold Medal at the 1948 Olympics). The prices for breakfast seemed a little high but the service was good. We loved the Hot Pool which is 10 feet deep in the middle. The Hot Pool is great after a long day of skiing. There are also changing rooms available near the Hot Pool and Spa, but people walk through the hotel in the White Robes provided in the room. We even saw White Robes in the Duchin Room where guests were enjoying a cocktail! There is a bowling alley near the Hot Pool, but we never had time to get to it. From the laughter coming from the stairs, it seems to be a popular spot for a little fun. I loved walking up and down the hallways looking at all the pictures of the stars who have stayed at the hotel over the years.

All in all, I really had a great time at the hotel and would definitely return. If you are looking for ultra-modern and high tech, this is not the place for you. This is a hotel built in a by-gone era but has been lovingly restored and maintained to appeal to the more modern traveler.

Room Tip: Room 206 is the Suite where Ernest Hemmingway wrote "For Whom the Bell Tolls". It has a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monarch Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from the beautiful Sun Valley Resort after another flawless ski trip in Sun Valley, Idaho. The resort has a beautiful lodge, but we opted for one of their luxury condos which have with a few bedrooms, full kitchen and living room. Sun Valley has less flights than most other ski destinations which makes it a hidden gem in many ways. (Not overcrowded) The mountain offers some incredible runs for skiers and snowboarders at all levels. You just can't beat the Sun Valley Snow. The Grill at Knob Hill is one of the best restaurants in town for a nice meal. Grumpy's is a casual local hangout and a great for a burger, wings and a beer after hitting the mountain. Sun Valley has most of what you would find at a posh ski resort like Vail or Aspen without the crowd. Sun Valley Resort never fails as an awesome vacation.

Room Tip: They have so many choices when it comes to rooms/ condos you are sure to find one you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Lodge

Address: 1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Lodge Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.