We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Valley Resort

Sun Valley Resort
1 Sun Valley Road, Sun Valley, ID 83353
208-622-6136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Sun Valley
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Golfing, Skiing, Dining, Tennis, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether it's an exciting day on the slopes of Bald Mountain, or a relaxing sleigh ride or round of golf, Idaho's famous year-round resort promises a variety of recreation for outdoor enthusiasts.
Jerome, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great escape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Love the ice skating and the atmosphere. The international staff is friendly and helpful. The shops are varied and fun to explore especially during the off season when prices are slashed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    4
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Resort and Skiing - Best Ski Instructor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The resort and the ski area are gorgeous. Ambiance, skiing and service couldn't be better. And if you're thinking of taking a ski lesson, I have to recommend Chris Jafay, aka Cowboy. I've been skiing off and on for 20+ years and have had lessons here and there throughout. Today I had a 2 hr lesson with Chris that was ten times better and more effective than any other. He is of course, smart, congenial, patent, etc., but what makes him so outstanding is his ability to analyze, communicate, and demonstrate what to do so in a style that is fresh, different and really works. What a difference today has made.. Chris Jafay (Cowboy) Jafay45@hotmail.com, Ski School 208-622-2289

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“280 days of Sun and Natural Beauty, Winter is Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Sun Valley is a unique area in the South Central Mountains of Idaho. It be came known as the first destination ski resort in the western U.S. and was also the place where the ski lift was invented. It has a rich ski history but there is a saying here: People came for the winters but stayed for the summer. Our mountain weather in the summer is unmatched anywhere in the country. 70 and 80 temps and pleasant nights. We are an Island in the sky. One of the difficult things about Sun Valley is it's isolation away from interstates and major airports. But that is the very thing that has kept Sun Valley the rich cultural town that it is. Come see for yourself.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Where the Stars Shine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our third year celebrating Christmas in Sun Valley and it just gets better and better. In the sky and on the ground, the stars shine year round but holidays are truly a treat. Our tradition is to attend the FREE Christmas Eve outdoor ice skating show, which is followed by a torch light parade of skiers gliding down the mountain under a most magnificent star-filled sky. Fireworks capped what was already a spectacular evening. The resort hosts these events but we also come here each summer and are entertained year-round. Several years ago, Sun Valley hired a new general manager who has renewed customer service to this historic property. We've noticed a very positive difference since our first year here. During our stay we were treated like rock stars and rubbed elbows with other stars in town. This place is where Hollywood comes to play and we saw quite a few celebs, We followed the behavior of the locals and tried not to gawk. (At times it was tough -- I saw BRUCE! Talk about a rock star moment!)  We loved dining at Trail Creek Cabin, an old Hemingway haunt. It's charming and cozy in a spectacular setting. After dinner, we enjoyed an evening of dancing in the Duchin Room, where old money, locals and guests mingle and amazing musicians play. We were treated to a performance by the Paul Tillotson Trio, who kept us dancing 'til the wee hours of the morning. Another gem not to be missed is dinner at the Ram restaurant. Not only was the food and atmosphere outstanding, we were serenaded by a beautifully attired group of classic carolers who roam the resort each year during the holiday season. They are incredible singers who moved me to tears with some of the classic tunes and had us singing along to "Sun Valley Serenade". Have a drink in the adjacent Lobby Lounge prior to dinner. Some nights, a terrific piano player entertains there. Other nights, you can enjoy the ambience and watch a game on the well placed TVs. It's a fun spot to wind down after a busy day outside. Another "don't miss"  resort eatery is the Clubhouse. This mountain-style chalet is super-luxe in every way. We rented cross country skis and hit the groomed trails one day and snow shoed the next. There's a rental facility on-site.  Say "hello" to Glen who works there and was super helpful in getting us fitted with just the right equipment.  After skiing, stop by the Clubhouse for a bite to eat in this magnificent restaurant with awesome views. Ask Ron, the bartender, to share a view stories of Sun Valley from way back and have him pour you a Bloody Mary -- one of the best. Ever.  And, If you like the Clubhouse in the winter, come back in the summer. BE-A-U-Ti-FUL! If you golf, you have to play a round here. I think you've got the picture. I love Sun Valley Resort. I think you will too.  

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place if you love ice skating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Loved the outdoor skating arena(yes even in the August heat), and the Saturday ice show/buffet dinner was incredible. The service at the restaurant otherwise was very slow....thats the only problem I had with the place. Everyone was incredibly friendly too.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Valley Resort also viewed

Sun Valley, Sun Valley-Ketchum
Sun Valley, Sun Valley-Ketchum
 
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
Sun Valley, Sun Valley-Ketchum
 

Been to Sun Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.