We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families with young ones” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawtooth Adventure Company

Sawtooth Adventure Company
62 Highway 75, Lower Stanley, Stanley, ID 83278
866-774-4644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 attractions in Stanley
Type: Tours, Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sawtooth Adventure Company, located in Stanley Idaho, offers the best in Family Rafting Trips and Adventure Tours in Idaho. Join Sawtooth Adventure Company and explore the famous Salmon River on our 1-day family rafting adventures in the Sawtooth Valley. Guided Fly Fishing and Mountain Bike trips available
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for Families with young ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible time we just had on a float trip. My wife and I were looking at taking our 3 year old rafting with us and SAC had just the program. They put us on the "Scenic Tour" with Blake as our guide, this guy rocks!!! We stopped at four different swimming holes, some with hot springs, and we all had fun. The three hour trip was just enough for our young boy and I highly suggest anyone looking to take their young kids rafting get connected with SAC.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fun day on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a great day on the river despite the torrential rain storm at time of launch.
Clouds cleared out and we were on our way.
Water levels are low this year but the experience is so much fun, it really didn't matter that much.
Our guide, Blake, was a great guy, handled the boat perfectly, very informative. Only negative about Blake were his jokes !!!
All in all, a great family experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetherockys, Owner at Sawtooth Adventure Company, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and kind words. I'll talk to Blake and have him work on the jokes. I guess that's what you get when you have our resident nuclear engineer at the helm. This summer river guiding, next summer changing America's energy policy one bad joke at a time. Thanks for the 4 star review. Any thing we can do to get it to five-star so we can keep our 71, 5 star streak alive? Thanks again....next trip the Middle Fork of the Salmon.
Cheers,
Jared, Roni, & Maya Hopkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even getting dumped out was fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at SAC, the guides suggested that myself and my friend, both in our mid 20s, try kayaking instead of rafting for our High Adventure Day Trip with Lunch. Normally this trip is on class 4 rapids but one section was closed, so the rapids were 3 an below. We agreed although neither of us had been rafting before.
Upon entry into the Sawtooth, we were immediately led through "piece of cake." While all four of us who were in kayaks instantly flipped over, we were sufficiently prepared by the safety talks that we had been given beforehand. Our guide helped us back into our boats and we continued on, thoroughly enjoying the whole trip.
The quality of lunch was a pleasant surprise. There was a nice healthy mix including a quinoa salad and curry chicken.
Thank you for such a great time in Stanley! We will both recommend SAC to our friends!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sawtooth Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

White water rafting at its best. A great day...even enjoyed the rain! Guides Jeffrey & Jesse were the beat

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Great Experience, Best Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of the most memorable trips I've ever had was with Sawtooth Adventure Company. My boyfriend and I went on a 5 day rafting trip with SAC down the Salmon River. The guides were friendly, entertaining and very knowledgable about the river. They knew the rapids well, along with history about the river and its early settlement. We passed several other guided groups along the river, and it seemed we were having a lot more fun than the other guided groups! The guides are also great cooks. Who would've thought you could eat amazing food while camping on a river?!

After our river trip, we stopped by their store in Stanley, ID. Everyone at the shop was friendly and helpful. They gave us beta on some great mountain biking trails and told us about some great local spots to hang out and what events were going on in town. Staying in Stanley was a great addition to an already fun trip.

We came to the river with strangers but left with many friends. I'm grateful we chose Sawtooth Adventure Company to take us on such an incredible adventure. Choosing a good rafting company to go with can be daunting (so many to choose from), but I highly recommend Sawtooth Adventure Company whether you're going solo or with friends, family or business groups - they are the best!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawtooth Adventure Company also viewed

 

Been to Sawtooth Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawtooth Adventure Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sawtooth Adventure Company to your Saves list