We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon River Cabins & Motel

Salmon River Cabins & Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salmon River Cabins & Motel
Save
You added Salmon River Cabins & Motel to your Saves list
19055 Hwy 75, HC 67 Box 300, Stanley, ID 83728   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stanley
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is also known as "Jerry's" so look for it in Lower Stanley. I had an upstairs room right on the river and could listen to its flow all night. The room was very clean and light, plain but pretty. But the price was only $75, a great value for a right-on-the-river location with a kitchenette. I would definitely stay here again. The Riverside Motel in Stanley has the kind of fancier mattress and sheets, decor, wider deck many people want on vacation, but this motel will save you money while making you happy.

The cabins did look rather dark to me so you might want to choose the motel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The cabins are rustic as advertised. Ours had two queen beds and a fouton. The bathroom was very small. Plastic shower. Hot plate for stove. Nice big fridge. Wood kitchen table, small sink with hot and cold reversed. Another cabin was Similar but smaller with working stove. They provide charcoal grills. No need to try the heater.

Location is nice. Right off the road but there is not much traffic and you never hear it. The salmon river is great and right on the property. We rented poles in town for $7 each and caught 30
Trout between 5 people.

The view is incredible. Mountains in the background. Forest fires caused some smoke for us though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The location is superb, against the river bank, 5 yards, with a stunning vista of the Sawtooth Mountains. But the cabin itself was very small for the price. there was very little storage space for clothes, and the kitchen area was very cramped. The bathroom was unbelievably small.

The cabin needed lot of renovation and work, but the location made up for any disapointments.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, oOegon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I have stayed here three times in the last 10 years. Each time we have stayed in an upstairs room in the motel. The rooms are spacious, clean and simple with a kitchenette and 2 queen beds. The furnishings are dated but clean.

What we come for are the views off the back porch. I just love gazing at the river with the Sawtooth Mountains in the background. There is a large pasture with cattle grazing across the river. You can watch the osprey and the fisherman tryinging to catch dinner. It is so peaceful here.

We have always found the owners to be friendly and have never had any issues with the rooms. They also run Jerry's Country store so you have to talk to them between customers.

You won't get anything fancy. But the views are fantastic. I have never stayed in the cabins since we like the motel views so much. (When we first stayed here they just had the motel. They bought the cabins later.)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The very friendly owners give a warm welcome to you. The stay in a log cabin is rather simple, but that's intended, as well as the absence of any room service during your stay. For us it was a great experience - our first time - to stay in such a log cabin. But there was plenty of room, even with a seperated sleeping room. The cabins are located directly at the Salmon river with some phantastic views.
Our only problem was the cooking place which hadn't been cleaned up before so that we couldn't use it properly. But the owners were open for the critic and gave us a discount.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

This was my husband's favorite place we stayed at on our recent two week Idaho road trip. The rooms were clean and spacious and had a kitchenette. The furnishings are simple and somewhat older, but the location can not be beat. We had a second story room which opened up to the back balcony (shared by all) where chairs were set up and where you can sit right on the Salmon River. It was wonderful, to sit and sip a glass of wine and view the river with the Sawtooth Mountains in the background. Absolutely gorgeous. I would love to go back.

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salmon River Cabins & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon River Cabins & Motel

Address: 19055 Hwy 75, HC 67 Box 300, Stanley, ID 83728
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Salmon River Cabins & Motel Stanley, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon River Cabins & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.