We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place and will definitely come back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain RV Resort

Elk Mountain RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain RV Resort
Save
You added Elk Mountain RV Resort to your Saves list
PO Box 115, Stanley, ID 83278   |  
Hotel amenities
Tahoe Vista, California
1 review
“We love this place and will definitely come back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I love this rustic campground with a great restaurant, too! People are wonderfully friendly and make you feel at home. Perfect launch spot for hiking, fishing, off road riding and any thing you want to do in the Sawtooth/Stanley area. This is a rustic campground with full hookups. Close to downtown Stanley, friendly community. It's quiet here, not an interstate type campground.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed for a whole week. The only good thing about the place was we met a lot of friendly people. The camp areas need to be weeded from grass....a lot of bugs!! Also need to make the pads more level...NO fire pit except for groups in the middle. Not my idea of camping.... They had some kind of construction going on. Pipe line or something?? We were fit into this little spot with no place to park vehicles. NO VIEW unless you had the first site. Had fence in the back of us & people with trailers, trucks, etc hiding us in a little area. Bathrooms were okay. Oh,they do have a laundry room but it's for employees only...I would not call this place a resort!!!! Food in the resturant was okay. I would suggest to camp in any other camp ground in area. Big deal if none of them have hookups. It's better than this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The people that run the place are nice and accomadating, but that
does not make up for the poor facitlities they have,. The campground (if you can call it one) leaves much to be desired. We
stayed a week only because everything else was full. We had to park our car right up to the door of trailer which didn't leave any room to relax. The grounds are like being in the wilderness. You are packed in like sardines. with no view and rocky and hilly.
Definitely would not stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo, MT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here one day/night in one of the lower level sites. Upper level has mountain views, but was basically a dirt lot w/ hookups - lower level has more gravel. Our hookups all functioned properly. Showers needed cleaning, but get a lot of use - just bring shower shoes. Rest of the bathroom was spotless. The staff and food at the restaurant is why we'll come back. The staff treat each other like family and included us as part of that family. They made us laugh quite often. The service was great. We expected the free coffee to be an inexpensive brand, but it was VERY good. The food was delicious! The manager had made key lime cheesecake that was to die for. Her intention is to make one a week if she has the time (different flavors).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We did not stay at the R.V. park but ate there one morning during our stay in Stanley at the advice of a knowledgeable local, who promised us spotlessly clean eating environment and delicious food for reasonable prices. He was SO right! The exterior is less than promising, if we had not received a recommendation we would not have stopped. But the interior is darling, very clean, neat as a pin, and smells of pine and mouthwatering food! The staff are so kind and friendly, they treated us and our five kids like family. The food is as delicious as home-cooking gets, and those WAFFLES!!! After that, we nixed our plans for eating at several local restaurants in favor of our unanimous favorite--and our wallet thanked us. Both my husband and I enjoy fine dining, but there is a lot to be said for feeling like you are pulling up a chair in your favorite aunt's kitchen and diving into a plateful of hot comfort food! The coffee and tea is on the house and the place is heated by old fashioned wood burning stoves, all adding to the sense of coziness.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

The food was good and plentiful and the iced tea is free. We had the ribs and they were very good. Servie was great and the prices were reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We found this restaurant by accident on a recent trip to Stanley,ID for a rafting trip. I wasn't expecting to find such good food in a small town like Stanley, but was pleasantly surprised. While the RV spots don't look that great, the restaurant serves excellent smoked ribs, chicken, and pulled pork sandwiches. They also have great salads with baby greens, fresh vegetables, and many dressing choices. Don't miss the pie! We tried the sour cherry and the blackberry and they were both delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain RV Resort

Address: PO Box 115, Stanley, ID 83278
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain RV Resort Stanley, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.