We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As AWESOME as the SCENERY!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Save
You added Riverside Motel to your Saves list
Highway 75, PO BOX 192, Stanley, ID   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stanley
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“As AWESOME as the SCENERY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great Rooms with the most Comfortable Beds, Great Hosts, Great Views. I was very impressed and WILL BE BACK! Thanks Frank and Patti for creating such a great place. I will be seeing you again soon :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
50
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed here in October 2011. The motel has a great location, right on the river with amazing views both front and back. The room has a full kitchen, is spacious and has a great bathroom. The decoration is a bit twee, but the beds are comfortable.

Do go for breakfast and great coffee to the Stanley Baking Co!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the Riverside Motel "kinda" by accident. While we had been in Stanley before and were impressed by the looks of the Motel, we were on our way to Ketchum but arrived one day before our reservations were set. So, we went to the Riverside Motel for one day in Stanley. Patti and Frank have a real gem here. There was so much "stuff" in our room, we could have stayed a week and not needed anything else for cooking, eating and comfort except food to cook. Our upstairs patio afforded us the opportunity to comfortably sit and look out to the Salmon River, right outside, and watch the wildlife, livestock and birds running through and over the fields and hills immediately east of us. The last of September and we were sitting here, in our shirtsleeves, eating the popcorn that was provided for us in the room, and really resting from our long drive from Oregon. Thanks for the fruit, too, and the jar of coffee. As we climbed into bed later on, we were surprised that we had very good TV, quality and selection. And were those beds comfortable!! By the way, thank you Frank for the recommeded "best places to eat" that we checked out and used. You were right, too, when you told us we would be sorry we only stayed one day.

Room Tip: Ya' gotta stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived in Stanley expecting to stay approx. 3 days as part of a hunting trip. We ended up spending 11 days at the Riverside. The valley in which Stanley resides is the best single spot we have found in the mountain west in 40 years of hiking, hunting and fishing. The Riverside is extremely comfortable and hospitable as only an owner operated business canbe. Patti and Frank are gracious and extremely knowledgeable about the area, Frank has been guiding on the Salmon for 35 years, and knows the entire region intimately. Our room was oversized with fully equipped kitchenette and a totaly silent heat system. Luxurious beds and even sat tv. The back door leads to a large well appointed deck from which you can fish in the Salmon river while enjoying spectacular views. We will return next year before deer/ elk season and spend at least 10 days.We have a long list of destinations within 40 minutes of our front door at the riverside yet to be visited.

Room Tip: I believe all have decks on the Salmon river and spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We visit Stanley every summer and winter for the past 20 years, and look forward to staying here! The owners are wonderful and the rooms are extremely well cared for and tastefully put together. The property just delightful and well-cared for. You can't beat the location, the tranquility and peacefulness of the river setting is beyond description. You don't want to be up in town when the bars empty out... stay here where it is delightful, peaceful and safe. If you are looking for a quiet environment, the atmosphere at the Riverside is precious and rare in the hotel industry today. You won't have to deal with ill-behaved, loud or unsupervised children like at other hotels, Frank and Patti really care about the comfort and the experience of their guests, they go out of their way to ensure our stay is a pleasant and memorable one.

Room Tip: Room #7 is the best! The cozy fireplace and the awesome river views right outside your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! The room was clean and very comfortable. Felt like being at home! Could not have asked for a more relaxing place to stay. Patti and Frank make sure that all of your needs are taken care of! We liked it so much, we stayed an extra day! Whether you want to be busy doing activities or just lounging around, this is the place to be!
Your room is right on the river. Most places tell you it's right on the river but its still a five minute walk. Not here. It could not be any closer. Outdoor furniture and deck are in perfect condition. Potted plants make it look "like home" If you want a relaxing place to get a way from it all, this is the place!!! I'm going back!

Room Tip: Just ask....they go out of their way to let you know what's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Ignore the trio of really negative reviews below. They are from someone that either cannot be made happy or grossly ignored common courtesy.
Frank and Patti were pleasant hosts offering local help, history, and really solid information on the Sawtooth area. Frank has been coming to and/or living in this area for a long time and willingly shared fishing, camping, and hiking info.
The hotel itself is certainly very nice. Modern with full kitchen (we stayed in the river side building), comfy beds, and clean. If you want a hotel rather than rustic cabin and want to be on the river in Stanley, this is the place. It was a great place to stay after being in the back country and camping for a week.

Room Tip: Specify the river side building if you want to be on that side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: Highway 75, PO BOX 192, Stanley, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Stanley
Riverside Motel Stanley, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.