We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint to your Saves list
GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   476841 Hwy 95 North, Sandpoint, ID 83852 (Formerly Super 8 Sandpoint)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was a little nervous to rent a room here given the overwhelmingly negative feedback lately.

I've stayed in Sandpoint a few times, and while there are better hotels out there, I didn't think it was that bad. Main problems were that the room did smell a little funky and the shower didn't drain well. The rooms look clean but if you start to dig a bit more, it is a little dirty, but it is what it is for the price you paid. And you can hear other people around you doing whatever it is they do.

Otherwise, it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are happy to hear that you came and stayed with us here in Sandpoint. We do let each department know of any concerns or issues that any guest might have and the problems are fixed almost right away to give our guest the best experience at our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    12
    20
    17
See reviews for
27
47
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We started here 1 night in July 2013. We were 2 families and both of us had a hard time finding it with GPS from different companies (in fairness, it might be because of a lot of road work in the area?).

The hotel is very shabby and we find it hard to recommend staying here, although this is not really much of a tourist area, so it just may be what there is.

On the upside, the theme park not too far south is awesome and the hotel price was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night....... My mother and husband have asthma we stayed in the Super Six for three nights in Couer D Lane with no problems. We were headed back to Canada and thought we would stay in Sandpoint and look around the area we stayed at the Guesthouse. In the morning both my mother and husband could barely breath we were scared they went out to get fresh air that's when we realized it was something in the room. I was brushing my teeth and the sink was not draining properly so I went to lift the plunger plug which came out along with black mold in it. I also checked the air conditioning filter which was plugged with dirt and the dirt rolled off the filter. I brought it to the desk clerks attention and all she said was oh well we will look after it. Very disappointed and will tell as many people I know (who travel often )to spread the word before they kill someone. (Husband is now in hospital Thanks to guesthouse) you should be shut down !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention while you were at the hotel. It is so much easier to take care of problems while you are there. As you recall, you did have a slow drain and we were able to fix it within minutes. The black part of the drain is general chrome staining from water sitting on it too long. No need to worry, we do not have mold in the hotel and we double checked your room as well. We also washed your AC filter to ensure your room was sanitary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

So disappointed in this hotel - it is definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We were going to Silverwood with 6 families and we thought we had found the perfect hotel to accommodate all of our families, especially since we could get one large room with 4 queen beds and then rooms with 2 queen beds in them. And they were all to be guaranteed Non-smoking rooms. Their website says in more than one place - 100% Smoke Free. This is so UNTRUE. Three of our 7 rooms just absolutely STUNK of smoke. They smelled so bad of smoke and who knows what else. We requested different rooms and nothing else was available. Their only solution to this problem was to give us some air fresheners. Not acceptable!! The only 1 other room that was available, had a broken air conditioner so you'd have to trade the horrible stench for a blazing hot room. At this point, we actually called other hotels to see if we could just stay somewhere else (that's how bad the smell was), but nothing was available. We found out that this hotel just recently converted over to non -smoking in December of 2012. Obviously the conversion has not been successful and they have not taken the proper steps to take of the smoke smell, and under no circumstances should they be telling guests that their rooms are non-smoking as they are absolutely NOT. This could be a huge health risk to some. I'm highly allergic to smoke and instantly my sinuses started clogging up. It was just miserable. Luckily another family who isn't affected quite a badly from smoke, traded their room with me as it was better than the one I was put in. Also no where on their website did they mention or warn anybody that there is a ton of road construction going on and the views are all of that construction. But that was minor compared to the smell and then we come to find out that three out of seven of rooms weren't even cleaned. They said they were cleaned, but for one of the rooms, when we went up to it, the door was actually already wide open, there were dirty towels in the bathroom, a shirt hanging on the door, a dirty mug on the counter, the sink and tub were dirty, etc. We thought a mistake had been made and someone was still checked into the room. So we went back down to the front desk and the gal was genuinely confused and confirmed that the room was vacant and should have been clean. They had no explanation as to why the door was left open. So the poor gal who was the ONLY one working there (we felt so sorry for her), said that she'd have to go up and clean the room once she was done checking folks in at the front desk. Two of the other rooms were also filthy - hair left in the tub, carpet not vacuumed, dirty towels, etc. The bathtubs in every room are also awful - they squeak like crazy. You feel afraid to even move as you can't help but wonder if it's actually going to cave in and the noise is incredibly loud so you definitely don't want to take a shower when someone is sleeping. The only positive about the rooms was that the room with the 4 queen beds was actually pretty nice - the only one. The hotel also mentions a 24-hour hot tub but that is not true either. We couldn't even use it because it was drained when we got there and by the time it was finally filled up, it was too late. And after seeing how everything else was 'cleaned', quite honestly we would have been afraid to go in it. Also, the cleaning staff also needs to be trained in what the 'do not disturb' sign actually means. It does NOT mean that you knock on the door and yell for someone in the room, and then if they don't answer, you go ahead and let yourself in the room! This happened to us on more than one occasion. One time, one of our parents were in the bathroom and didn't hear the cleaning lady and next thing they knew, she was opening up the door. Another time we had a family sleeping, and the cleaning staff woke them up. So to their cleaning staff - that sign means that you DO NOT DISTURB the guest in the room - you do not knock - you do not let yourself in. Instead you put a note on the door or leave a message on that guest's phone but under no circumstances should you be disturbing the guest. We were also disappointed in the hot 'deluxe' buffet that they offer. It was definitely not deluxe. Apparently unless you arrive at the very earliest hour, that is the only time that you'll get the eggs that they promise since we went down at all hours, and never were there any eggs. And only 2 cereals were offered. They mention assorted breakfast breads, but we never even saw those - just one morning there were some small donut holes and that was about it. Just slim pickings of everything, no matter when you went down for it. And the eating area is really small. The web page makes it look bigger than it actually is. The only good thing about is the waffles which you can make yourself. All I can say is thank goodness we spent most of days outside of this hotel. I really wish we had seen the other reviews that echo our opinion of this hotel as we would have never had picked it. We absolutely would never go back to it and GuestHouse management really needs to be seriously looking at this hotel and the major problems associated with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your response and I appreciate your bringing this to our attention when you stayed with us, although your comment on line is worse than what you told us. We have been smoke free at our hotel for three years. Sometimes a smoker who does not smoke in the room but has smoky clothes and hair and leaves the sent in the room, but we are pretty good at cleaning it. Our breakfast area seats 24 people plus we have a living room for overflow. Our breakfast consists of hot waffles, Fresh muffins, hard boiled eggs, white and wheat toast, cereal, oatmeal, Fresh fruit, yogurt and many other nutritious things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

for a non-smoking room, our first room was putrid with the smell. If there was a charge for the person who stayed there previously to me, well, the cleaning fee was, seemingly, not applied to cleaning the room.

The second room, provided to us because we could not sleep in the first one, had a toilet that constantly ran, water leaking from the toilet to the point that the carpet in the room was wet. Most surfaces had not been wiped down let alone dusted. The Window fell out of the frame and cracked me in the head. The staircases were filthy. For the folks who reviewd the hotel and said it was decent and clean, all I can say is, "where have to stayed previous to this hotel? A cave." Seriously, I've camped in the great out-of-doors for most of my life and have had cleaner settings in which to sleep, eat and clean myself. This was room 235. We attended the Festival at Sandpoint and the entire town was booked, otherwise I would have not stayed

I encourage you to avoid this hotel. The cost, no matter how inexpensive is not worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation for two nights. No elevator, but the rooms are nice with log furniture. Our nightmare came when we got back to our room and found it a complete mess! One bed was partially stripped with all the pillows piled on the other. One comforter was in a chair. The room hadn't been cleaned at all, but the towels were gone. We called the manager, who come brought us towels and apologized. It wasn't her fault and the staff here are nice, but for the money, they should have better housekeeping. The manager said we were the second room that was messed up that same day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so sorry that you had to return to your room with a mess. We did talk to housekeeping and addressed those issues and have taken every measure to make sure that this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Bed wasn't bad. Bath Tub Was Terrible! They put a cap over old tub and everywhere you stepped in it it squeeked so loud it woke everybody up. The place could have used some housekeeping also. Spend an extra 20 dollars and get a different hotel in town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint

Address: 476841 Hwy 95 North, Sandpoint, ID 83852 (Formerly Super 8 Sandpoint)
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing Lodge-style hotel featuring free hot breakfast, wireless internet, 24-hour hot tub, Guest Laundry, ski wax room and surrounded by restaurants. Rooms are completely remodeled with Knotty Pine Furniture, 32" Flat Screen TVs and Frig/Micro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Lodge Sandpoint Hotel Sandpoint
Super 8 Sandpoint
Super Eight Sandpoint
Sandpoint Super 8
Sandpoint Super Eight
GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Lodge Sandpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.