We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a mixed blessing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   807 N. 5th Ave., Sandpoint, ID 83864   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Bit of a mixed blessing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was one of the low spots on out trip, cause partly by the late arrival (4am) and departure (2am) of our much delayed Amtrak train. We were lucky that the local taxi service was still running when we arrived and relieved to find a clean room. The hotel reception showed no interest in finding us a room for a second night (a late decision by us the train was going to be so late) even though we were paying and they clearly had rooms. The guy who ran the taxi service (one taxi, apparently, for a whole town) was taking a night off when we tried to go back to the station. The person on the reception showed almost no interest in the fact that we were going to have long walk to the station with bags. After some discussion, he did make some effort to help and a very kind member of staff was found to drive us to the station. It was the end a long shift for her and although we had to leave somewhat early for our (delayed) train, we were very grateful that we did not have to walk in the dark with our bags. Perhaps everyone else arrives in Sandpoint by car!

Other points were that the restaurant/diner adjoining the hotel had a good Sunday brunch menu. The service was good and efficient. The indoor pool was also quite pleasant.

If you are arriving by train and have bags, the Best Western is a better place to stay as they will take you to the station when the train is due. Otherwise, given that the station building used by Amtrak has been condemed, you might have to do as we did and sit outside the station in the dark in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We'd been on the road for 10 days, had a few terrible experiences with accommodations, so we were very grateful to find this Quality Inn met our expectations. The beds were very comfortable, nice thick pillows, fluffy towels. And our room was quiet even though the hotel is on a busy street. Great value. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The swimming pool and whirlpool both look inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Think Choice Hotels needs to check up on what they call "Quality". We got a dark room which faced a blank wall. Poor lighting, no micro nor fridge & no continental breakfast as shown on their web site. That will be the last "Quality" Inn we visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked a jacuzzi room and enjoyed it very much. The tub was so relaxing and the bed was extremely comfortable/ The room was very clean and the hotel was within walking distance to the lovely downtown area. We ordered room service a couple of times and the food was good.
Although the second time we ordered, the person who delivered it insisted on entering the room and I happened to be in the jacuzzi tub so I was quite embarrassed. I suppose my companion could have prevented this person from entering if he were more mannerly.
One funny thing was when my companion ordered steak and eggs for breakfast, they called back and asked if he wanted hamburger steak or chicken fried steak. Where we come from you just get a regular steak, a slice of beef grilled. My companion chose hamburger steak, which when it arrived was literally a hamburger patty. It was tasty just surprising.
Good food and service. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

When we walked into the lobby, the smell of chlorine from the indoor pool about knocked us out. Our room was facing the busy street, but because of the interior hallway, the street noise was minimal. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen...you could barely get in the bathroom & shut the door! The room was clean, but looked very worn and dated. The pool & spa were nice. The restaurant attached had a good breakfast although it is not included in the hotel rate.

We wouldn't stay here again but frankly, none of the hotels in Sandpoint looked all that impressive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

A decent place to stay with good value. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and pub to watch football games.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micjer
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The hotel is on the main highway so it was noisy and not a lot of parking. On our last day they moved us without telling us anything, the receptionist tried saying they tried to call us and could not get ahold of us and we new she was lying because there was no messages on our cell phone. We had the verification of our dates at the hotel with us and they tried telling us we were to book out that day and they went ahead and took all our stuff out of our hotel and put it in another room. When we went into our old room we were shocked to see all of our stuff gone. They took it to another room, and we had to go through all our stuff and make sure it was all there. Bottom line they moved us without telling us, and tried to bill us a higher price for the new room and lied to us when we had all the information to prove our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 807 N. 5th Ave., Sandpoint, ID 83864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sandpoint, Idaho
Sandpoint Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.