We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Bridge Street, PO Box 128, Sandpoint, ID 83864   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
ALBAfunny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This Place is Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We pulled into town late with no reservation but wanted to stay by the water. The price seemed high but thought that the location was worth it. It was not. The hotel really needs some updating for decor and maintenance. Our room was on the 3rd floor with no access to an elevator. If you have anyone in your party that cannot do stairs easily, you are out of luck. The wall of windows facing west on a hot summer day made the hallway to our room unbearably hot. The staff was unfriendly. I will say it was clean and if you don't plan to spend time in your hot, expensive room, it is a clean, safe place to stay

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    90
    36
    18
    12
See reviews for
53
105
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Very friendly employees, great location (really beautiful views), decent restaurant. That's the good. The bad -- my non-smoking room was apparently above a smoking room. Stinky enough that I won't stay here again.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Nice location and from the outside it looked new, but it hasn't been updated since the 80's. We tried several rooms. One smelled like a high school gym: stale sweat. Because it was late, we stayed anyway. We were finally given a room in new part on what was supposed to be the top floor. Nope. The room above us was occupied, and we listened to creaky footsteps and whatever until late in the night. Room was also not particularly clean. Staff was indifferent.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed here June 16-18, 2008. We arrived a day early and they did not have a king room available for us so we took a room with two queen beds for that first night. The next night we were moved to a king room on the top floor, but it had been sprayed with deodorant and the smell was so strong that I could not stay in the room. I contacted the front desk and they gave us a choice of two other rooms, both upgrades. We took a king suite on the top floor that had two rooms, two bathroom, two TVs, a great view of the lake and a huge Jacuzzi tub. Needless to say we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.
The place does need some upgrading, but it was clean and comfortable. The trains running past the building on the other side of the parking lot did not bother us. The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. The hotel staff could use some additional training, but they were all friendly and helpful. The prices for the rooms were a little high, but I doubt that one could find a lakefront hotel at a lower price.

  • Liked — Great view of lake
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This hotel was dirty, room was dirty, staff unproffesional.
Very poor amenitys.

Rooms are very old and falling apart, ours was quite dirty.

there are few hotels in Sandpoint, so most of them are WAY over priced for their quality.

Stay somewhere else like Coeur d lane, it is only 45 min. away. and the hotels are all way nicer.

Ill never stay in a best western again.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

Stayed here for a couple weeklong trips - skiing and summer time.

Hotel could stand some upgrading/modernization, otherwise staff is great and so is the food. Noise buffer from the train is ok. Quietest rooms are lower floor, best views are upper. They have 1 king suite which is a real treat!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Went for a quick spring weekend get-away. Main reasons for selecting the Edgewater were their pet policy and being right on the city beach. After reading some of the negative reviews, we thought we'd give it a shot and be ready to move elsewhere for the second night if needed. We ended up being pleasantly surprised and stayed there both nights. Room was clean & comfortable and looked like it had been recently refurbished. No "bad" odors anywhere as had been previously reported. All rooms face the great view overlooking the lake and mountains. Balconies were small but functional. The train tracks are across the parking lot, but we were not bothered by any train noise. No traffic going by the lot to the Seasons complex either, but it was not the high season...If we had to complain, the only detractor was a squeaking/creeking floor from the room above ours. Get a third floor room and the problem would be solved. Not sure I'd want to stay for more than a few days at a time, but for short visits it was fine.

  • Liked — friendly staff and good pet policy
  • Disliked — creaking floor
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort

Address: 56 Bridge Street, PO Box 128, Sandpoint, ID 83864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakefront Sandpoint, ID hotel is conveniently located near Schweitzer Ski Resort, Silverwood Theme Park and Coldwater Creek Street Bridge.The spacious and neat accommodations at this charming and elegant BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort offers cable satellite television, high-speed Internet access, room service, in-room movies and more. All guests of this Sandpoint, ID hotel can take in stunning views of the lake from their room, providing relaxing scenery and an invigorating way to greet the day.While staying at this Idaho Best Western, guests can also take advantage of the fitness center, on-site Trinity at City Beach Lounge, indoor pool and hot tub, free parking, conference services and meeting facilities with catering that accommodate up to 100 attendees. The guests of this BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort can fuel up for whatever their day holds at the on-site Trinity at City Beach restaurant, serving up delicious fare and breathtaking views of Lake Pend Oreille. Whatever you or your fellow travelers are in the mood for, there's a restaurant nearby to suit everyone's tastes, such as Ivano's Italian Restaurant, Jalapenos, 5th Avenue Restaurant and The Hydra.Located within walking distance of downtown Sandpoint, guests of the BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort can also enjoy easy access to many of area's popular attractions. Delight in a day of adventure and fun by visiting Silverwood Theme Park, Schweitzer Mountain Resort, Coldwater Creek, Cedar Street Bridge, the Festival at Sandpoint Symphony and Lake Pend Oreille. Or, enjoy unwinding at the nearby Idaho Club Golf Course, Panida Theater or Sandpoint City Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater Hotel Sandpoint
Sandpoint Best Western
Best Western Sandpoint
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort Sandpoint, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.