We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It had been a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Cuisine Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Cuisine Thai Restaurant
202 N 2nd Ave, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1477
208-265-4149
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 77 Restaurants in Sandpoint
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bonners Ferry, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It had been a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I used to eat here when I lived in Sandpoint. I have been in Bonners for a few years and things change , But not the quality of the food the serve here. I have never had a bad meal here and my last trip was well worth it. Good Food Good Price. Two very happy bellies for under 30.00 dollars for lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tried to go...left standing for TOO long...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I can't say whether the food is good or not, it smelled very good for the 15 minutes we were left standing at the hostess stand. There were only a handful of people there at the time and it was just poor service that left our party standing around - ignored until we just left. And I really wanted Thai food that day. :(

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quality has diminished”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place used to be superb. The owners seem to change faster than some people change their underwear! Each time, it's a little different, but this last time, it really went downhill. A favorite dish I used to order (green curry) used to be made with fresh ingredients and coconut milk base. The last time I ate there, I discovered within minutes that the sauce was now made with dairy and I am now unable to eat it. Other dishes have diminished in quality, too. It's too bad, because we used to go there often as a family and enjoy their great food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I hate giving a terrible review but with this place I am forced to. We have tried it twice. Our first visit we were unimpressed with the mediocre food and cleanliness and decided not to return. We tried it again several months later when we intended to go to another Thai restaurant in the area and it was closed. This time the shrimp soup I had was delicious but the other food for our party of three was very mediocre. The salad is terrible! Stale out of a bag...it would be better to just forgo the salad. But the biggest problem was the cleanliness. I do not know why this place isn't shut down. After eating we needed to use the restroom. The narrow hallway takes you past a food storeroom and the kitchen. it was messy, and smelled horrible with spilled food in the storeroom and food stored on the floor and spilling out of containers. The kitchen was a mess with water and food all over the floor , the door grimy with unwashed buildup and the smell was almost enough to bring up my dinner. I will never go back. I am so sorry. I am sure someone is just trying to make a living but the conditions of that kitchen could get someone killed by food poisoning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Try out the other new Thai restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

OK this is the original thai place in sandpoint so we thought we would give it a try - mistake. poor food (see other reviews - pad thai and salad rolls), lousy service and the bathrooms were disgusting. In a town full of great restaurants dont limit yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Cuisine Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Cuisine Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Cuisine Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.