We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service and nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Readery - CLOSED

The Readery
209 N. 1st Ave., Sandpoint, ID 83864
208-597-7866
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I had heard good things from the locals about The Readery, and all of it was true. First, the place is much bigger than it appears from the street, and it is much brighter than I thought it would be. The staff is welcoming and makes delicious soups, salads and sandwiches. I've heard that breakfast (served until 11:30) is fabulous, so I'll have to come back next weekend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“quiet little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was able to enjoy a hot ham sandwich with a cop of the butternut squash soup for a late lunch last weekend. The sandwich was toasty, flavorful, and satisfying. I love butternut squash soup...and this was a winner. It had a nice creamy consistency and good spice notes. I think I can definitely say fall is on it's way.

Here is a confession: I have an incurable sweet tooth...I mean if it were OK to just east desserts and candy for meals I would. When I saw a basket case with scones and coffee cake I had to have some. The coffee cake was unreal-spiced pear, moist, tangy, awesome streusel...I couldn't stop shoving it in my face. Bonus for having a lunch buddy and getting to try the blueberry scone too!

I think the atmosphere of this cafe was perfect for an afternoon spent chatting and catching up-quiet background music, not too brightly lit but the sun filters in nicely, lots of room between tables so you aren't sitting in on the adjoining tables conversation. Oh-and if you have time, check out their books. They have quite a collection available to read while sitting or to buy if you so feel the urge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pricey for less than stellar food, many other places in town that are far better, I must believe that other reviewers were extremely hungry or friends of owners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had read ahead on Trip Advisor but I didn't remember reading about this little spot. Nice mix of jazz on the stereo, books for sale, cheerful staff, an old building and good food. We just happened upon it while exploring the little town on a hot afternoon. It was cool and dim and we left full of yummy sandwiches. What's not to love?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to sit, eat and read”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Ride Idaho has a layover day in Sandpoint. After today's ride from Coeur d'Alene I stopped in for a sandwich and iced mocha. The roast beef and cheddar on baguette was outstanding as was the mocha. It's also got wonderful bones - nice music in the background and comfortable seating. It's a gem that I'm glad I found.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Readery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Readery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.