We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base Camp in Town, Skiing Schweitzer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Sandpoint to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   415 Cedar St, Sandpoint, ID 83864   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Sandpoint
Roseville, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Base Camp in Town, Skiing Schweitzer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We are Dave and Peg from Roseville, MN a retired couple enjoying winter skiing. We started out our month long ski adventure by skiing Schweitzer Mt. in Sandpoint before heading up into BC, Canada. We many times use Tripadvisor to select our lodging. We read the reviews and you quickly learn from your fellow travelers the places to stay. La Quinta Inn Sandpoint was spot on in quality, friendliness and location. We stayed two nights and are planning to return for two more nights was we work our way back to Minnesota. The room was clean, great breakfast, wifi worked very well, hot tub great after a days skiing. We were also able to buy our lift tickets at the Inn and they had great dinner recommendations. Great price AARP.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dave and Peg,
I hope your ski adventure is going well.
Thank you for positng your experiance with us on TripAdvisor.
See you next time you come thru Sandpoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
50
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alta, Wyoming
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have become fans of La Quinta in the last few years. We have 3 dogs, and they are always welcoming, and with no pet fees! This hotel is centrally located to the main part of town/village.

Everything else we have come to expect of La Quinta's was what we got here in Sandpoint. Reasonably priced, comfortable bed and linens, nice hot tub (although whirlpool air jet exhaust is really loud for people staying in this wing of the hotel), clean spacious room, free breakfast.

Connie's lounge and cafe is kinda of attached to the last building. Nice cozy place to grab a drink or food. They had a big menu, but we only ate breakfast there, and it was decent.

There were a few minor things that were not a huge deal, but worth mentioning.

1. This hotel is spread over 1.5 blocks... if you want breakfast in the morning, be prepared to walk outside for little bit... same is true of the hot tub if you are in the main building.

2. The internet signal was too weak in our building to work. The wife switched to her Iphone for a modem, so I don't know if this was a temporary problem or not, and we did not ask.

3. water pressure in shower is pretty low. I think it's a water saver thing, and a not a huge deal.. but it was probably the lowest I've experienced outside of a Motel 6.

4. Parking on a busy weekend sucks. There is not enough room for all the cars, and you have to be careful parking on the streets as there are restrictions. This is probably not a big issue most of the time, except the busiest weekends.

Overall, very happy with our stay.. service was great as usual.

Room Tip: check on which wing of hotel you want for spa, internet and breakfast service if those are important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you,
You bring up some valued points.
We always try to accomodate guests in what building they prefer.But if you are not familiar with the lay out of the property it can be somewhat a surprice.
I'll have our maintenance look into the low water pressure as this is the first time I hear it is low.
I would recommend calling the hotel directly when making a reservation. The desk clerk will be glad to help with questions about the location of the room.
See you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to Sandpoint for skiing at Schweitzer ski resort over the President's day weekend. La Quinta staff are friendly and helpful and truly pet friendly. Able to provide information about dog parks and managing a pet on vacation.
The beds are comfortable and the room was spacious. Generous breakfast - more choices on Sat and Sun mornings, but week days are plentiful, waffles every day. Everything in the room worked - the frig, microwave, hair dryer and internet, which is NOT always the case.
I will definitely stay at La Quinta when traveling to Sandpoint again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Glad you had a good weekend here in Sandpoint.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This isn't my first time staying here. As always, the room was clean but the bathroom could use some minor maintenance. There was some missing grout in the floor tile and the tub spout was not screwed in tightly to the wall. This is a good centrally located hotel. One can easily walk around the town. The breakfast was good and able to fill 2 teenage boys. We only stay here when in Sandpoint.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you do not desire to go between buildings for breakfast. Try to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for the post.
We truly appreciate you sharing your experiance and tips with others.
We will see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

we come here to have a nice vacation from our business in montana, the big in room jacuzzi
suite is where we love to stay. it's the largest in room jacuzzi we've found. fireplace in the room
is nice too and really puts out the heat. The bed is very comfortable and that room has always been pretty quiet. there are a few things that should be addressed. some kind of carpet in the jacuzzi room would be a good and safer update the tile floors can be very slippery when getting out for restroom so be careful we fell once tile is hard! thankfully no breaks only bruises, one tile is cracked and wobbally by the fridge. also tile in the bathrooms also! SLIPPERY and always COLD. please put in some carpet. also the wifi dosen't work in this particular room and I always use my laptop, so a little irritating a signal booster from a near by room would fix this easily. staff is always great and helpful. location is very convenient for shopping and getting to the lake. we'll be back for sure for more relaxing.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The title says it. Located conveniently in the center of Sandpoint, easily within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Friendly desk personnel. Standard free breakfast. Inexpensive room ($59, compared to summer rates of over $100). We'll return.

Room Tip: Three floors of rooms. I wouldn't recommend ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the kind comments.

We look forward seeing you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a ski trip to Schweitzer. Usually stay at the resort *(ski in/out) but wife had to work so it was just kids and i. Good free breakfast and good room for the price. Got on Hotwire for around $50/night...a bargain!

Room Tip: was on a busy street but noise was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the post.
Yes, we are in the heart of Sandpoint and that is very convinient.
I'm glad we had a chance to accommodate your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Address: 415 Cedar St, Sandpoint, ID 83864
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Sandpoint 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Hotel Sandpoint
La Quinta Sandpoint
Sandpoint La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.