We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Sandpoint to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   415 Cedar St, Sandpoint, ID 83864   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here 3 times this year and each time was a pleasure. Friendly, clean and nice breakfast. Looking forward to future stays. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Wonderful cozy ambiance ....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff.I would like to say THANK YOU! for the kind words.
We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
57
69
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Ponderay when visiting family in Sandpoint. H.I. Express is also my preference when traveling in the U.S. However, La Quinta is more centrally located and about $30 less per night, so I gave it a whirl. Overall, my stay was just fine. Service was prompt when I asked for more towels and for a bathtub faucet to be repaired. I opted to stay in the older building to save about $10 per night. Older building is inconvenient re access to lobby (about a block away and a very slippery walk on a winter morning/evening) and would suggest upgrading to check out via the phone or television as other hotels do to minimize inconvenience to guests. Parking for the older building needs improvement. Lot off Cedar Street is very small and fills up by 7:00 pm. Second lot behind the building was full before 9 pm and we had to park in the lobby lot (again, an icy walk away). Room was clean and had necessary amenities. Walls a bit thin and outside noise by housekeeping was a bit bothersome in the early morning. All said, I am there to sleep and shower only, and this place is a great value. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try.
Hope to see you on your next visit to Sandpoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at this hotel in the last 12 months. Great location for walking in downtown Sandpoint. Nice rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, never had a problem. Good bang for the buck. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, oregon, USA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We love this La Quinta. They make traveling with our dogs very easy and comfortable. What we love:
--The staff: Super friendly, very accommodating. Margie is amazing!
--The hot tub: Always clean and hot enough.
--The location: can't get any better than this! 1 minute to downtown and its restaurants and shopping
--Breakfast: For people on the run who are not picky, being able to grab a quick breakfast is nice. It is more than the basics.

La Quinta is a mid-range hotel. Thus, don't expect luxury and a property without quirks. What we would change:
--the heater in our room was located directly next to the bed. It is either on or off, making the fan weird while we slept. Hard to breathe the warm air, but without it, you can hear the slight noise from outside (a problem for a light sleeper like me).
--Building 1 is directly on a fairly busy intersection. The nicest rooms are here, but be prepared for a bit of road noise.
--A protein option on the breakfast would be awesome! But beggars will not be choosers.

We dig it here and will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sanderson3,

Thank you for posting your experience at La Quinta on Tripadviser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

So having read the mixed reviews of this hotel I was a bit dubious but I got a really good rate through Hotwire and decided to give it a try. It is awkward getting in and out of the place because of the one ways. The hotel is made up of three buildings across three blocks, however it's right near shopping and restaurants so you can walk. We stayed in the main building. The room was updated, clean, and the beds very comfy. Being on a trip with three women we really enjoyed the second sink in the main shower area and the spaciousness of the whole room. The breakfast was pretty standard but for the price I thought it substantial. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. The rooms are very good and its close to the breakfast and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you again next time you visit Sandoint ID.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

For the local area, this hotel is outrageously over priced.
There are a number of more modern hotels in town which offer a similar, or better, room for $25.00 a night less.

Despite what is indicated elsewhere on this web site, I doubt if anyone has paid $69.00 for a room here since 1988. As of October 2012 the price for 2 was $20.00 higher.

The location has advantages and disadvantages. It is very centrally located in downtown, within easy walking distance to the shops on main street. The two main highways in Northern Idaho, US 2 and Highway 95 both converge at the hotel, so there is a considerable amount of traffic noise.

The rooms are larger than might be expected. But they are very blandly decorated.
The furnature in our room had seem much better days. the fold out sofa bed in the room was still in the room - even though it was obviously broken and a pain to sit on.

There is nothing particularly wrong about this property... but nothing particularly nice, or particularly memorable. Much like your typical Motel Six or similar property.

I am a regular patron at other La Quinta's and this hotel is substantially below any other LaQuinta property I have ever visited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side AWAY from the main highway -- they are substantially quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We do strive to ensure all our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay. The sofa bed in that room does need replaced. Thank you for reminding me of this. I was remiss in not replacing it at the beginning of summer when we replaced other sofa beds. We will replace it.

We do care very much about our hotel and the level of service we offer. I appreciate all comments that help us in offering a better product to our guests. We are in the hospitality business and we feel that is defined as "that personal gift of caring". We care about our guests, our employees and our hotel.

Thank you for your assistance and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Over-priced and disappointing accommodation. Bed was comfortable but room very worn out and dated. We were put in block away from main building, no lift and had to carry heavy suitcases upstairs. The plumbing is extremely noisy and you can hear next door flushing and running water. We had drunken, noisy people in room below. All-in-all would not recommend, especially for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Would not recommend any rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquinta0470, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Pauline, I am sorry you were disappointed with our hotel. We do have three seperate buildings included in our property. We have two buildings with elevators and you must have been placed in the third building near the whirlpool and fitness center. I am sorry you had noisy neighbors and were disappointed with the condition of the room. We are in the process of updating some of our rooms. I'd appreciate the opportunity to address the issues with you personally if you can contact me @ lq0470gm@laquinta.com. We want to be sure our guests all have a comfortable clean room and a good night's rest at our hotel. Again, I am sorry this was not the case with you and I'd like to make it up to you. Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor and bringint this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Address: 415 Cedar St, Sandpoint, ID 83864
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Sandpoint 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Hotel Sandpoint
La Quinta Sandpoint
Sandpoint La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.