We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pie Hut

The Pie Hut
502 Church Street, Sandpoint, ID
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Sandpoint
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hayden, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This one is a bit hard to find but totally worth it. Everything is fresh and delicious. The cream of mushroom soup was worth the drive from Hayden. The pie was excellent. The service was great. The locals know about this one and anyone in Sandpoint for the day should plan on lunch here. There's an interesting antique store next door for shopping after lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, only a few tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stopped here while passing through Sandpoint . I read "pie" and homemade soup and we headed over. It was a huge treat !

The sandwiches were great - turkey/cranberry for me and a Cuban and goulash soup for my husband, They were on greaaattt bread and flavorful. My husband loved his soup.

After debating about eating pie (about 20 choices that day) immediately or taking it with us, we opted for eat it now. We should have noticed how large the slices of pie were - we were stuffed, but very happy!

There are only about 10 tables here, so there might be difficulty getting one at lunch rush ( we were there later). But there were many to go orders going out the door too. We would be sure to stop here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great daily specials, all made fresh. Specials include pie, which is superb. Best feature to me is the flexibility of the menu, i.e. you can get whole sandwich and soup, or half sandwich and soup, or soup and salad, etc. You get the point. If you get there by 5:15, you can eat dinner, but they close at 6.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As soon as you enter the antique store that is next door you can't help but have your stomach begin to rumble and draw next door where the best lemon sour cream pie resides and forces you to try other amazing pies. Enough said if you have not gone ask yourself why not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

No other words needed. The place is cute, colorful, welcoming. The turkey crunch sandwich is to die for. And the pies, undoubtedly a "slice of heaven".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Hut also viewed

 

Been to The Pie Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pie Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.