We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty all year long” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schweitzer Mountain

Schweitzer Mountain
10,000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864
208-263-9555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Sandpoint
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain and ski area located in northern Idaho.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beauty all year long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I love Schweitzer Mountain! There is something to do in every season. I rated the value so low because the lift tickets and innertube run are very spendy. Night skiing is the best deal, but you don't get all the lifts. The resort just celebrated 50 years and had a huge firework show. There are plenty of lodging choices and numerous restaurants, I can not review the restaurants because every time we try and eat there, they are very over crowded. This is a very popular resort and gets very busy. All in all I say it's worth your time!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
302 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
601 helpful votes 601 helpful votes
“Beautiful - as are many other mountains.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

In context of mountain views, this could be considered typical. Beautiful, but some folks get blurry-eyed when presented with lots of mountain scenery. (For such folks - taking doses in moderation can help..)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderay, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“This place is awful. Too expensive, no parking, no snow, always foggy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Worst skiing I have ever experienced. Always foggy, rude personnel, when they have snow it is usually wet, heavy snow, no parking in the village area so you have to take a shuttle bus from the base of the mountain and travel 9 miles up a very rough, winding, narrow road at apx. 25 mph., very expensive, no night life at the ski area so you have to take the shuttle down the mountain to the parking lot, drive to Sandpoint to eat, drink and party then drive back to the parking lot, take the bus up the mountain to the ski area and the shuttles stop running up the mountain at 5:00 pm everyday except when there is night skiing on Fridays and Saturdays in Jan. and Feb. So after skiing you could take the shuttle down the mountain, drive quickly to Sandpoint, eat fast and have maybe one drink before having to drive back to the parking lot to catch the last shuttle back up the mountain. This place sucks big time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Ski Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

You could say we skiied above the clouds all day. The sun was shinning! We like everything but getting served lunch on the hill was slow! Loved the all you can eat salad bar. Would go again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb ! A little known secret !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The skiing was great, the resort often has snow when other resorts do not. They have great systems in place to make life easy such as gear check at the bottom of the lifts. They have a few interesting shops including a delicatesan and the people make the place have a really warm village feel to it. With a large amount of ski-able terrain and 92 runs there's plenty to go and explore. We took our kids who had never seen snow before and the ski coaches were so good that our son was skiing black runs after 9 days ! Great people, great fun and a bit of a local secret ! :-)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schweitzer Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Schweitzer Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schweitzer Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.