We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schweitzer Mountain

Schweitzer Mountain
10,000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864
208-263-9555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain and ski area located in northern Idaho.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Summer or winter this is a must see spot. Great summer activities, biking, hiking, picnicking, huckleberry pickin :) Winter skiing is unparalleled, great groomed runs with lots of dry snow. Lots of runs with something for every skill level. Great mountain eateries and lodging. Take a camera so you can enjoy the spectacular views for years to come. Great for the entire family.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    49
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Minnesota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful day on the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took the ski lift up and could see Washington, Montana, and Canada. the bear grass was in bloom, a great day for photography. The ride back down was more spectacular than the way up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great family ski mountain and easy to get to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is amazing to us that so many people from the Northwest go to Sun Valley when Schweitzer is so much easier to get to and is just such a great ski spot. It has a great set up for beginners, plenty of black diamond runs, jump parks for the snow boarders, tubing, etc. It is an easy 6 hour drive from seattle (vs 14 for sun valley) or 90 minute drive from spokane. It is really one of the best kept ski secrets!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazomanie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Touring the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We drove to the resort and took the ski lift to the top. The views were absolutely incredible! I wish we had allotted more time to visit as there were hiking and biking trails all over the resort. We drove up the mountain and gawked at the houses (and castle!).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Summertime fun for familes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We decided to take a drive up to Schweitzer while we were in the Sandpoint area. It was a beautiful hot summer day. We decided to take part in some of the different summertime fun activities they have for families. Our family took a ride on the chairlift, and certain family members took a ride on the zip line and climbed the climbing wall. There is a fun pass to purchase for around $35 a person that includes those activities as well as a few others like a jumper of sorts and a turn at the sluice box to look for gemstones. We decided to purchase our activities individually because it actually ended up being a better value for our family. There was also a few games such as giant checkers and chess to play at your leisure.

What really stood out to me was the staff. Everyone we talked to was friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Thumbs up to them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schweitzer Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Schweitzer Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schweitzer Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.