We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family ski mountain and easy to get to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schweitzer Mountain

Schweitzer Mountain
10,000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864
208-263-9555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Sandpoint
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain and ski area located in northern Idaho.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great family ski mountain and easy to get to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is amazing to us that so many people from the Northwest go to Sun Valley when Schweitzer is so much easier to get to and is just such a great ski spot. It has a great set up for beginners, plenty of black diamond runs, jump parks for the snow boarders, tubing, etc. It is an easy 6 hour drive from seattle (vs 14 for sun valley) or 90 minute drive from spokane. It is really one of the best kept ski secrets!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mazomanie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Touring the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We drove to the resort and took the ski lift to the top. The views were absolutely incredible! I wish we had allotted more time to visit as there were hiking and biking trails all over the resort. We drove up the mountain and gawked at the houses (and castle!).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Summertime fun for familes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We decided to take a drive up to Schweitzer while we were in the Sandpoint area. It was a beautiful hot summer day. We decided to take part in some of the different summertime fun activities they have for families. Our family took a ride on the chairlift, and certain family members took a ride on the zip line and climbed the climbing wall. There is a fun pass to purchase for around $35 a person that includes those activities as well as a few others like a jumper of sorts and a turn at the sluice box to look for gemstones. We decided to purchase our activities individually because it actually ended up being a better value for our family. There was also a few games such as giant checkers and chess to play at your leisure.

What really stood out to me was the staff. Everyone we talked to was friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Thumbs up to them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best groomed slopes in the Northwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have skied all over the pacific northwest- and no one does a better job of maintaining their ski slopes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best North Idaho ski escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the mountain that is a hidden treasure for North Idaho. Excellent snow conditions. Close to Sandpoint for shopping and dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schweitzer Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Schweitzer Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schweitzer Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.