We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inspiring time of beauty and relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandpoint
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talus Rock Retreat
Save
You added Talus Rock Retreat to your Saves list
291 Syringa Heights, Sandpoint, ID 83864   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Olympia, WA
1 review
“An inspiring time of beauty and relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The Talus Rock is a beautiful place ran by friendly and wonderful people. Never have I traveled and felt like I was at home. Having full access to a house that has several rooms and an extremely comfortable movie room kept it interesting and relaxing. The hosts are very accomodating and welcoming. There is so much to look at and enjoy from knick knacks to dogs to scenery to a goat. As far as the showers and beds, everything was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay at the Talus Rock again with pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    11
    0
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
146
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brookings
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed at Talus Rock Retreat for our honeymoon. It was amazing. Heather and Bruce were great hosts. We stayed in the Nooma Room, which is as big as most peoples houses. The heated floors were cozy, and the view was spectacular. Heather admits to lacking in the "breakfast" skills, so the refrigerator was well stocked with stuff for a quick and easy breakfast. Our favorite memory though, was of Twinklebell, the goat. She quickly greeted us and made herself quite at home with us when we would return for the evenings. When the pool and spa are completed, it will cap off beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

A wonderful place to stay in Sandpoint! Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting and a wonderful family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, ID
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere local for our honeymoon to keep expenses down and Talus Rock was the perfect place! Very reasonably priced, welcoming hosts, and extravagant craftsmanship throughout the house. We stayed in the Kipling room our first night and the Arbor room the second and third. Both had beautiful aspects but we especially enjoyed the tree shower and jacuzzi right next to the bed in the Arbor room. Our host Heather even had roses and a wedding gift waiting for us when we arrived! Very sweet and endearing qualities that sealed our love of the place right away. The only (and I mean only) thing we would have improved would be blinds on all the windows (being our honeymoon and all). Although the windows without blinds only looked out on the backyard, it was a little disconcerting not having complete privacy from the outside world (especially with the shower and tub facing the windows). But this definitely didn't take away from the experience and we will be back when we get the chance. Would be a great place to take the family, as well as a romantic getaway. Just walking around the house and looking at all the intricate and beautiful details that went into the design is a treat in itself!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have travelled the world, stayed in hotels, B&B's, lodges, cabanas, campgrounds and finally this retreat and I can assure you that you won't be disappointed with this one. Heather, Bruce and their great kids are the perfect hosts. They have great attitudes towards life and have the goods to make you feel special, love and respected. Smiles, attention to details during your stay,friendly manner and helpful tips, its all part of the marvellous experience we had at the home of Heather and Bruce. And I am not talking about the beautiful house and land, the cute animals and the serenity you feel when you breathe the fresh air of the forest. Go see for yourself. You will comeback with energy to spare and stories to tell. We loved it. Thank you. Merci beaucoup.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Enjoyed the thoughtful design of the house and the spacious rooms. The grounds and animals were fun to look at through the large picture windows. I would have enjoyed a greater sense of privacy though. Heather was a kind and helpful host, always available to offer tips and information about the local spots.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We so much appreciated the kind hospitality, comfort, clean interior with everything you can think of at your finger tips. I have a background in interior design and was so impressed with the thought put into each room, down to the placement of antiques mixed with world travel finds. We left to get back to Seattle and stayed at the very impressive "Davenport Hotel" in Spokane and wished we had stayed back at Talus.. It was an experience that a fancy Hotel could never capture.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Address: 291 Syringa Heights, Sandpoint, ID 83864
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talus Rock Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.